We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent oysters & lobster” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Shack

Summer Shack
50 Dalton St, Ste 2, Boston, MA 02115-3129
617-867-9955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Summer Shack is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #549 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Boylston St
Transit: Hynes Convention Center on the Green Line/Prudential Center on the Green Line.
Description: Very good food for a quick lunch
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent oysters & lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is a very casual restaurant across from the Sheraton Hotel. Their oysters were outstanding. So were their service personnel. You could watch them prepare their lobsters from 'live-ones'. You could also watch them 'shuck' the oysters which were nice and 'meaty'.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    145
    51
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“soft shell lobsters are amazing and cheap. Service isn't geat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This place is ten seconds away from the Hilton or Sheraton. You can get two entire soft shell (sweet lobsters) for around 30 bucks!
They tasted great and came with a corn on the cob.

The down side is the service. The airhead at the door was spaced out and wasn't sure why I walked into the restaurant. After an absurd exchange I explained that I would like to be seated so I can eat. The waiters were friendly and answered questions but in fairness were overwhelmed. The restaurant was packed! The kitchen forgot my side order of mashed and the people next to me also didn't get their order right.

I returned the next night and everything ran smoother. I came closer to closing time and so it wasn't as busy.

The food is amazing and the price is so low for what you get. If you can avoid peak hours and everything should be great.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun, loud, and certainly decent food for a crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I recently reserved few tables for 25 or so colleagues at Summer Shack. The cons are that it is a lively, fun establishment where with long tables, conversation and mingling becomes difficult. Still they did a stellar job of accommodating us, replenishing appetizers, drinks, even water etc... as New England Clambake was being prepared. For a large group, without a private dining area, we were not rushed either. The Clambake was generous with few finishing its contents. Given that the restaurant was jam packed, I was pleasantly surprised that the lobster was not overcooked. Clams and mussels were delicious as was the chorizo. Only disappointment was dessert which was a mundane chocolate bread pudding. Service was attentive. For tourists and college kids whose parents are visiting Boston, it is not terribly overpriced, and overall worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Dumpy seafood restaurant with lousy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

It was our first night in Boston and we were going to a Redsox game and wanted to try a casual seafood restaurant and the Summer Shack looked like a good local place. It was not good. The service was lousy as our waitress seemed annoyed she had to serve a table (the place was empty). The food wasn't that bad, but overpriced for a place like this. We asked what the specials were and she just pointed to the board where they were listed (we didn't notice it at first). Not a great experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We both had the house special: the lobster! Loved it.
Biggest lobster we ever ate. So don't bother with entrees or sides, safe space for the lobster! Good price too.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.