We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most unique RI in the chain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The most unique RI in the chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A special property. Great building. A unique design. Spacious rooms.
In a brief three night stay, we became fast friends with many of the staff. They gave us great advice on restaurants, transportation options & directions.
The rooms are terrific. Being a pretty new hotel, everything was in great shape. Beds were very comfortable, rooms very quiet, and it's great to have a beautiful kitchen with full size appliances.
Marriott should be extremely proud of this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    49
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
66
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Gorgeous renovation with friendly staff and centrally located. One off the nicest hotels I have ever visited. I selected it because it is close up the convention center and cpetitively priced. I really was amazed at the inspired decor. I highly recommend it to those who love great interior and exterior design.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just the bedrooms in the suites are larger than many hotel rooms. The living area has a full size refrigerator, microwave, two burner stove and dishwasher. There is a bar style table with sitting for two and a full size sofa. The breakfast is very good..eggs, sausage, breakfast sandwich, cereal and waffles. There is also plenty of open seating areas to meet with other members of your group.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms that are on the corners or facing Congress street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I love this hotel! My first time to Boston with my husband and teenage daughter. The look and feel of this hotel is new, clean, and upscale. It has an industrial look with the exposed wood, pipes and brick and it looks fabulous! Even the elevator were great. They are glass elevators and you can see the interior courtyard as you go up to your floor. We were greeted with smiles at the front desk. Everyone that works here is very friendly and professional. One stand out is Dave at the front desk. He was really very helpful. Our room wasn't ready, but I didn't expect it to be since we were early. We walked over to Faneuil Hall which is about a 15 min walk. On the way we passed a dounkin donuts a couple of restaurants, The Children's Muesum, and The Tea Party Muesum. We did some sighseeing (there is sooo much to do) and we made it back to our room around 5 p.m. We walked into our room which was a studio, but really felt like a one bedroom. There was granite counter top and stainless steel appliances in the kitchen area. A pull out couch with a flatscreen tv in the livingroom area. (kitchen and livingroom were one room) then the bath romm and a separate bedroom with another flatscreen tv. The celings were all exposed wood with brick walls in the bedroom. We were blown away with the place. We were tired from our day and decided to order in dinner and enjoy our room. It was perfect because my daughter camped out in the living room watching her shows and my husband and I had the bedroom to relax and watch our own tv. Breakfast was great! Scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels and more. Those that worked the breakfast area were terrific. They were constantly cleaing and refilling the food stations. Can't find anything negative to say about the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This newish hotel is way convenient to a number of fine restaurants & bars, the harbor, & central Boston. Complimentary breakfast served is very good, more than ample, with a large range of selections. We enjoyed it.

The renovation of the building from industrial facility to a hotel must have been very "big budget." But...there are quirks. The lighting in our suite was so subdued as to be annoying. Difficult to read a newspaper in the living area without sitting directly next to a lamp. (Lots of very low wattage bulbs going on here.) Beware of your room's thermostat. No matter what temperature we set it at, we froze in the shower, the fittings of which were loose & difficult to use. And don't be surprised, if you find behind the bedroom curtains, a smallish window with no view & a very large brick wall. Almost no natural light in our suite. Almost like living in a vault.

Hotel staff people were excellent & very helpful.

All in all, this place deserves more attention to the HVAC system & lighting in the rooms. Nice hotel but we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I were on an extended trip from La La Land California to explore the East Coast recently. We are retired seniors-- but adventurous. We booked the Residence Inn Downtown Seaport Boston using Marriott Reward Points. Since we usually stay in timeshares and JW Marriotts, we enjoy having more space in our room and being able to utilize a small kitchen. So this hotel appealed to us in a large city. The location seemed central for walking, and I liked the photos and the fact that it was brand new. We easily found the hotel. The staff was welcoming, helpful, and gracious. They all seem to be very enthusiastic and go out of their way since the hotel had recently opened. The hotel is very unique to the Marriott system, in fact we were told that Mr. Marriott himself had recently come to "check it out" being such a unique property. (And maybe somewhat experimental, who knows?) It is a creatively remodeled old, and I mean OLD historic building. Much of the original has been preserved and incorporated into modern architecture. The result is a very hip, cool feel. Our first reaction was my facebook post "This place is much too cool for us!" But it was actually fun, and the unit was comfortable enough. We felt like we were playing "hipster" and were young, working professionals from out of town doing business in Boston. (As most there appeared to be.) A nice breakfast came with the booking each morning. Everyone was friendly and there was a nice "vibe". We stayed two nights. We slept well, and even entertained friends in our room for happy hour one evening after a day of sightseeing together. We had a very nice stay and I would surely recommend. The parking is a hassle (as most places in a city) and the rates are not cheap, but the location is great.

Room Tip: No room has a good view, but higher floors seem less claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

In a pinch, I found room at this Residence Inn (during the World Series) at a very reasonable rate. It's now my go to hotel in Boston. It's very close to the seaport (Hyatt and Intercontinental are very close) and super convenient to the T - just a short walk to the Red Line.

It's a beautiful, modern hotel renovated from an old warehouse. Exposed brick and beams and a ridiculously awesome breakfast. This hotel will not disappoint. I could not be happier.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport

Address: 370 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the financial district. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, our brand new extended stay Boston hotel will provide you with all you need. Spacious studio and one bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. The new Residence Inn boasts a large cutting edge fitness center with exterior windows for strengthening your body and soul. At Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport, we will provide you with a great location just minutes from the Boston Convention Center, The Seaport World Trade Center, Boston's financial district, the NE Aquarium and minutes drive to historic Fenway Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Groupon, Venere, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.