We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandler Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chandler Studios to your Saves list
Chandler Studios
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   54 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116 (South End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Killingworth Ct
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

These rooms are large and beautifully appointed. They include a kitchenette with a two burner stove, microwave and fridge. I really liked the private parking in the back accessible through the electronic gate. There are only 4 spaces so you have to reserve but you can come and go as you like unlike regular parking lots. First class

Room Tip: If you want it perfectly quiet ask for a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed in Chandler Studios for two nights. It's lovely, quiet, clean and comfortable. The amenities are new and modern. The bed is extremely comfortable. It's also in an excellent location, close to restaurants, performing arts and a little organic grocery around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We book @ the Chandler Studios because the Inn was sold out but we were so happy afterwards. It could not of been anymore appealing. We were 4 so we needed two double beds but the room was not cramped at all. Zachery checked us in & walked us over to the Studios which was about a block across the street. Oh - we were also allowed to check in an hour earlier at no extra cost. They have a key pad to get into the parking area, studios & room. We all felt very safe! At the Inn where we checked in there was coffee, tea, hot choc.& water free for their patrons. All of the staff there were all friendly & helpful. Our next time in Boston we are planning on returning to The Chandler Inn or Studios. The location is within walking distance to the Theatre & great restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Studios room 23. A nice view of the street. All the rooms were booked but we never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Chandler Studios in Boston for a week in December 2012. An excellent stay -- a classy, large room in spotless condition with a mini-kitchenette we used for making coffee in the morning. Very helpful staff. We kept our car in their parking lot, which was convenient and secure. Wish I were still working fulltime and making more frequent business trps to Boston. I'd stay at the Chandler Studios in clear preference to the standard hotels on and near Copley Square: better room, in a trendier neighborhood, and substantially chearper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I ended up getting upgraded to the Chandler Studios from a regular room at the Chandler Inn across the street. Not sure why, but I'm not complaining!

The Studios really are little apartments. One queen bed, a mini-kitchen - complete with stove, microwave, fridge, sink, plates, utensils, etc. - a nice closet, big bathroom, dresser, nightstands, and table with two chairs. If I was going to be in Boston for awhile, it would be very nice to have the amenities of this place. Very comfortable and my room was also very quiet. (One exception being that I think you might be able to hear the water from units above. I woke up briefly a couple of times to what I think was someone flushing a toilet, but I'm not sure. But that is common in old buildings, and this one is probably well over 100 years old.)

I slept better in this room than the two previous nights at the Doubletree Hilton 1/2 mile away. (I needed another night in Boston and the Doubletree was full.)

Modern style and everything so new that the extra cords for the TV/Dish TV box were still in the drawers. I might have been the first person to stay there.

It is in a lovely residential area dotted with restaurants and stores. A quick walk from the Back Bay Orange Line T stop, so easy access to everything downtown or anywhere else in Boston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is like having your own apartment in Boston.

We were warmly welcomed by Gretchen, the representative at the front desk of Chandler Inn, who personally led us to our apartment in Chandler Studios. She told us that we were the first guests ever to stay there as the historical building just finished a 2-year renovation.
Since we were in Boston for a convention, we needed a home base to prepare for presentations and interviews. There was plenty of space for both of us to work in the morning and even have friends over for coffee after a night out. Nothing felt cramped.

The lighting and ambiance was incredibly tasteful. You can adjust the brightness of practically every light in the apartment to make it just right. Most of the utensils you would need to cook basic meals are available in the kitchen, as well as plates and glasses to set your own table.

The only catch is the design of the shower. You have to step into the shower and get directly under the nozzle to turn it on. If you're flexible enough, you can twist your way into the door and reach over to the knob but you'll still get wet. Small price to pay for such a spacious and well designed bath room.

By the way, the photos were taken by me, not by staff.
I wasn't paid or anything to write this, I just couldn't find much to say against such a nice place, especially since we the first guests ever to stay there.

Also they didn't gouge us even though we were in a great location during one of the busiest weekends in Boston. It made all the difference since we were paying out of pocket.

Highly recommended if you need a home base instead of just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandler Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Studios

Address: 54 Berkeley Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open October 2012! Brand New Studio Guest rooms in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring stylish decor and ultra modern keyless entry systems, Chandler Studios is the ideal Boston home base for the sophisticated business or leisure traveler. Located on Berkeley Street in Boston's beautiful South End, Chandler Studios is ideally situated to take advantage of all that Boston has to offer. Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Newbury Street shopping, Hynes Convention Center, Prudential Center, John Hancock Tower and the Freedom trail are all easily walkable from Chandler Studios.Chandler Studios are the perfect choice for long and short term stays. Whether in town for 1 night or 3 months, Chandler Studios will be your home away from home. Each Studio offers:*complimentary wired and wireless internet*42" flat screen TV*i-pod dock alarm clock radio*kitchenette*work/dining table*keyless entry system*online concierge*in-room safe*full size iron and board*hairdryer*daily housekeeping ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your Chandler Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandler Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.