We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Pot Buffet

Hot Pot Buffet
70 Beach St, Boston, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #812 of 2,831 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a great place for hot pot. Definitely must come. Tick whatever you want and they will deliver. The spicy base soup was not too spicy and delicious. Flounder fillet and all vegetables were fresh. Beef and lamb were delicious.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Park, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hot Pot Virgin No More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I love asian food of all kinds and travel from Maine to Boston often for Dim Sum...we had heard about this Hot Pot business but since we usually for Dim Sum we hadn't had a chance to try it....until last week when we were in Boston for a few days. Now we are Hot Pot addicts and can't wait to go back again for more. When we got there for lunch they asked us if we'd been before and when we said no, they were very helpful with telling us what to order etc. We got a divided pot with Black Chicken Broth and a Spicy Broth. Both were so delicious...to dunk in the broth we got the tendon, meatballs, rib eye, bok choy, Chinese broccoli, mussels, fish balls, cilantro, udon and vermicelli noodles...It was clean and comfortable and for 16 dollars a piece we throughly enjoyed it. YUM!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Taste and All You Can Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

When my wife saw the words "Hot Pot Buffet" she knew we must try it. We were both thrilled that we did. We enjoyed it so much we returned the next night and ate there again! For a set price you pick from several savory broths and choose as many items to eat, including seafood, meat, and vegetables. The food choices appeal to both Western and Eastern tastes. If still hungry, just ask for another list of foods and make more selections and repeat as needed. Individual tables as well as a U-shaped communal table are available. Good service at the U-shaped table as the staff can service any customer by walking through the middle. Only one dipping sauce but some customers asked for and received a customized sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a great all-u-can eat buffet. Just check off your items & bring your choices. It even includes seafood. You get a 2 hour time limit. As with many Chinatowns, the service could be better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good value for a great hot pot experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

If you like hot pot or shabu, but don't want to spend an unlimited amount of money fora great meal, the Hot Pot buffet in Boston Chinatown is your ticket to hot pot heaven. Except for legendary poor service from typical Chinatown restaurant service and at best mediocre ambience, this experience is fantastic value. You can literally order as many dishes and variety as many times as you wish fora price of under $25/person before tax! And the choices are extensive to so it will please just about everybody. The only potential downside is that they have limited choice for dipping sauce which is premixed for you, but they are willing to accommodate to your wishes as best as they can if you have any special request for sauces. enjoy!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Pot Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Hot Pot Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Pot Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.