We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe, good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barney Fanning's

Barney Fanning's
Broad St, Boston, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Nice vibe, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Located in Boston’s downtown financial district near the Hilton Hotel, Barney Fanning’s is apparently very popular with the after-work crowd – the place was filled with young professionals the night I visited. While it calls itself an Irish pub, there seemed little beyond the name and signage to distinguish itself as Irish. Still, there was a very positive energy inside.

While containing the usual array of “pub grub” like wings, burgers, nachos and potato skins, the menu also features steak, pasta, shepherd’s pie, soups, salads, fish tacos, paninis, wraps and other specialty sandwiches.

Our fried calamari appetizer was just a touch chewy but quite tasty. Our seared ahi tuna appetizer, on the other hand, was flawless. In fact, my colleague enjoyed it so much that he ordered another serving as his entrée. I opted for the lobster roll, a half-pound sandwich filled with huge chunks of lobster – it’s a true taste of New England!

So, if you’re in downtown Boston and crave an adult libation or a tasty informal meal in a local hang-out, you could certainly do a lot worse than Barney Fanning’s.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fun place and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Good help and good food
Located near hotel
Chose based on comments in trip advisor
First night in Boston
Live music on Friday night

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott
1 review
“Huge lobster roll!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wow! I never thought I'd struggle to finish a lobster roll - this one was huge! So tasty, minimal dressing as it should be, excellent fries too. Must have!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were looking for a place to have dinner as we walked by, guests were coming out raving about the food. We did ask our bellman where to eat and he suggested this place. Service was fast and the food was good. I am from Boston and I moved away so we were really looking for specific regional food and we were not disappointed. I actually stopped the front of the house manager to let him know how good everything was. We had swordfish and a burger.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary, nc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

stopped in on our first night in boston. had a great time with some very friendly locals and a great staff. food was very good too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barney Fanning's also viewed

 

Been to Barney Fanning's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barney Fanning's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.