We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above at a Value Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LongHorn Steakhouse

LongHorn Steakhouse
401 Park Dr, Boston, MA 02215-3325
617-247-9199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Cut Above at a Value Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were in Boston near the Red Sox stadium and did not see likely places to eat besides bars pizza and fast food. Tucked on the outside of a shopping/movie theater conglomeration was a Longhorn. Even though it's a 'chain', which we rarely go to when traveling in order to have a 'local' experience, this place is great---from the decor, the greeting staff, the service, and the food. Very reasonable priced for the quality and quantity of the very well prepared food. We ended up with to-go boxes that became lunch for the next day---2 meals for the price of 1!
I had the salmon, which was excellent. My daughter had a delicious, very generous sized hamburger. They were very accomodating about substitutions. We had a salad with strawberries and nuts in it that was really, really good. Then, we topped it all off with a carrot cake that was big enough to serve 3 of us--and quite good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tujunga, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Why pay twice as much?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Using travel advisor for a steakhouse we kept finding places that wanted to charge $45 -50 for a filet...PUHLEEZ. We are on a 10 week roadtrip and didn't think $200 for dinner was in our budget. The Longhorn's filet was 1/2 the price and, I suspect, just as good. I was certainly as good as any we had at local steakhouses back home.
The service was fine and the ambience a steakhouse. I'm not sure what twice the $$$ would have gotten...maybe linen table clothes?
Now about that parking fee...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

After having spend over 300 US $ for a really unsatisfactory experience at Smith & Wollensky (The Castle) only tow days before we decided to lower our expectations and also to cut some costs. Therefore we ended at Longhorn and honestly did not regret our decision. OK, it is only USDA choice and not USDA prime, but hey, even at the Capital Grille they sell you only choice (but charge you three times as much as Longhorns. By the way both chains belong to the Darden Group of Restaurants). Atmosphere is non-existing but 100 US $ will feed a family of 3 with good steaks, sides, starters and even a bottle of a decent Cabernet Sauvignon. Try the Outlaw Ribeye! Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outlaw steak was fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I took the family to longhorn a few days ago and I was pleasantly surprised how good the food and service was. I ordered a Caesar salad which was very fresh and very delicious. They also have a large beer menu which I really enjoyed.
My entree was the Outlaw steak which was 18 oz of juicy well cooked paradise.
There were 5 of us 3 adults and 2 kids and the bill was 101.78 total how can u beat that... I'm hooked!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent service for a chain!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

So, yes, this is a chain restaurant and the menu is not going to be exotic, but the food is solid good. We ordered half-slab ribs and chicken and tasty. The ribs weren't overly messy.

But what made this better than average was the perfect service, very attentive but not overly trying to sell you more than you wanted. Immediately identified when we entered and quickly seated; drinks were served almost instantaneously.

A bit out of the way from where I live, but quite convenient to Fenway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongHorn Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.