We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to be rushed!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Thai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bamboo Thai Restaurant
1616 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135-5001 (Allston / Brighton)
617-734-8192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #291 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Jericho, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hate to be rushed!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The waiters mind set seemed to getu in and out. He constantly hovered over us while we were deciding what to order and while we were eating. He even lifted up the bowl covering the rice one of our guest had ordered in the midle of our meal to see if he could clear it off the table.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    19
    11
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have been going to Bamboo for years, and it is still our favorite. Why? Easy:

- Great food. This is fresh, homestyle (or what I imagine homestyle is in Thailand) food that is tasy, distinctive (each dish has its own taste & sauce, not the experience I've had with every Thai restaurant) and served in generous portions with beautiful, artful garnishes

- A bargain! Eating out in a pleasant space and you don't feel like you've been mugged when the bill comes...one of the reasons my husband & I keep coming back is that we feel it's the best deal in town

- The staff. The owners (one is usually in) are warm, constant presences that welcome you as if to their own home. Service is great, dinner comes quickly and is served with a smile.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service, beautiful fish tank!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Top-notch Thai from a very extensive menu, courteous and helpful service and one of the most fascinating salt-water fish tanks I've seen outside an aquarium. Reasonable. Fun assortment of appetizers, very good 'golden' curry, a most appetizing Pad Thai and great shrimp. The only drawback - as adventurous tourists, tried to get there using the notorious and dreaded Green Line direction Boston College. NEVER AGAIN. Find other transportation.

Take-out very popular as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Thai food, good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We enjoyed our meals, prices were average/good for Thai, service was pleasant and quick. Glad we tried out Bamboo Thai!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Way out on Commonwealth Ave.. a small Thai restaurant serving really good food at reasonable prices. service was prompt and polite, food was excellent. try it

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.