We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetable pad Thai ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok Bistro
1952 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02135-7701 (Allston / Brighton)
(617) 739-7270
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great vegetable pad Thai ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a great spot to grab lunch take-out. Their restaurant in Brighton is in a great spot with good food, large portions & reasonable prices. The vegetable pad Thai was great, and even tasted good cold the next day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Bangkok Bistro deserves its great reputation. It delivers amazing Thai food at a reasonable price. The Drunken noodles were spectacular, so was the Indonesian fried rice. I'm looking forward to trying out other things from their menu as well.
The only point I'd criticize about this restaurant is how small it is. For a nice romantic dinner I would choose a larger place. But it is called "Bistro" after all, so you know what you are getting yourself into. I love ordering take-out from here for this very reason.
I would recommend this place to anyone who is craving great Thai cuisine for a quick lunch or dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Some spice in the cooking oil makes it hard to breathe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Maybe it was chili in the cooking oil but it was hard to take a full breath while we sat in the restaurant. Also, the place is filthy and the service is super slow. The food tasted pretty fresh and was nicely flavorful and spicy. I especially liked the mango curry and the scallion pancakes.

They really need to clean and update the interior. And the prices are ok but not great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai option in Cleveland Circle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've been to the restaurant in Cleveland Circle, which is a great bargain. The menu includes a wide variety of options, with terrific lunch specials. The portions are large, the prices are very reasonable, and the food is consistently good. I particularly recommend some of the traditional noodle dishes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Food has been great each time I've been there. Great service. Recommend it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.