We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo's Cucina Italiana

Carlo's Cucina Italiana
131 Brighton Ave, Boston, MA 02134-2802 (Allston / Brighton)
617-254-9759
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 2,818 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
boston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hidden Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this cozy Italian bistro in an unlikely place. I would have never found this spot if it were not chosen by a friend who dines there often.
The food at Carlos is excellent, the service was friendly and efficient and we left very full. I recommend the eggplant appetizer, the fresh antipasto and the chicken marsala. Everyone ate a different entree and there were no complaints.
Parking is a litle tough but worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    61
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A one night trip to Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Three girlfriends and I shared a wonderful girls' night out at Carlo's last night. Our waiter, Gaetano, greeted us with his warm Sicilian salutations and that set the tone for the evening. After a delicious meal and a round (or two) of lemoncello, we were sad to leave our little Italian oasis. It was as if we had taken a one night trip to Italy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only Italian restaurant my Italian husband will dine at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband grew up in Naples and is extremely particular about his Italian food. Carlo's is the one and only Italian restaurant that he will go to. We have directed numerous people to Carlo's and everyone has been thrilled with the food, the atmosphere, the service. Bon appetito!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“A throwback”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This cozy, homey place seems like it's from another era. On the Saturday night when I dined here, there appeared to be a mix of "regulars", young couples on dates, etc. The portions are hearty and reasonably priced. Pasta is tender, and the chicken parm was out of this world - delicately breaded and delicious. Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, better than many in the North End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This family owned and operated Italian restaurant in the Allston/Brighton area is small and a little noisy but well worth a visit or two. The authentic Italian food is delicious and priced very well. Some of the pasta is hand made, and you can really tell the difference.

Parking is a little difficult, but there is a public lot about a block away near the liquor store.

The house made tiramisu is worth the trip alone.

Good spot for a first date.

Highly recommend this restaurant!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo's Cucina Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Carlo's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo's Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.