We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Cafe

Brown Sugar Cafe
1033 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-1001 (Allston / Brighton)
617-787-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #244 of 2,670 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I love Thai food and am always looking for new Thai places to try. I haven't found anything that I like more than Brown Sugar. The place is a little more authentic in their offerings that many Thai places. That's not why I like it so much, but just some commentary. I've been there a half dozen times at least, have always ordered something different, and have always been really happy with my food. The atmosphere at the Fenway location is the best, but the place on Comm Ave is nice too. try the duck dishes. I've had a few different ones and they are all terrific.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Thai in the Northeast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I had the best lunch here. Highly recommend the yellow curry with duck and the drunk noodles with shrimp. We started with the Fenway salad and ended with the chilled lychees. Too much food but, to try it all. Service was relaxed and pleasant. Thai iced tea was delicious , hit with my daughter. We look forward to bringing the entire family back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“as good as in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant doesn't catch your eye from the exterior but it is really nice inside - optimal for a dinner with friends, family or your sweetheart. The servers are very attentive and nice and the food is just amazing: if you like very spicy go for the jungle curry. My favorites are the Panang Curry and the Green Curry and the starter plate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and a step above other food options on this block”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Close to BU and a few blocks from my favorite "restaurant row" in Allston, Brown Sugar has been a favorite Thai restaurnat for years. It is a good alternative to the fast food options in that block of Comm Ave. Easy take out options for neighbors and commuters.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Their curry is fantastic. Tons of options to choose from. A bit pricey but totally worth it. Good portion size.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Sugar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Sugar Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.