We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food and a step above other food options on this block” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Cafe

Brown Sugar Cafe
1033 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-1001 (Allston / Brighton)
617-787-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 2,673 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and a step above other food options on this block”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Close to BU and a few blocks from my favorite "restaurant row" in Allston, Brown Sugar has been a favorite Thai restaurnat for years. It is a good alternative to the fast food options in that block of Comm Ave. Easy take out options for neighbors and commuters.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Their curry is fantastic. Tons of options to choose from. A bit pricey but totally worth it. Good portion size.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Popped in for dinner after a BU men's lax game. Delicious quick meal before getting on the road to head home. A great treat for students and a restful spot for parents on the run

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very Busy Thai Restaurant near Boston University”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

When my favorite Thai Restaurant in Alston, Ma. closed I was devestated. It took me a while but I found Brown Sugar Cafe. This place is extremely popular with BU students and their families so get their early or have reservations (only for 4 or more). When I first visit a Thai Restaurant, I only try the Tom Yum Goong ต้มยำกุ้ง (Thai Prawn Soup With lemongrass) If it is great, it is a great Thai restaurant and it is one of the three est in the Boston area, Very spicy, not not enough to make you suffer (too much) and you will not believe the menu when you see it. It is so extensive and you will not go wrong if you order a different option each time you visit as I do. It is extremely had to find a favorite! The waitstaff is wonderful, they are there even before you know you need them, Water refills are constant, if they see that you are getting low on peanut sauce or another condiment, you do not ask, it is refilled. Try It, You will Love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good Thai food, lovely place to dine. Service was a bit slow but worth the wait. I would oorder spicier food next time

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Sugar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Sugar Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.