We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Busy Thai Restaurant near Boston University” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Cafe

Brown Sugar Cafe
1033 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-1001 (Allston / Brighton)
617-787-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 2,672 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very Busy Thai Restaurant near Boston University”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

When my favorite Thai Restaurant in Alston, Ma. closed I was devestated. It took me a while but I found Brown Sugar Cafe. This place is extremely popular with BU students and their families so get their early or have reservations (only for 4 or more). When I first visit a Thai Restaurant, I only try the Tom Yum Goong ต้มยำกุ้ง (Thai Prawn Soup With lemongrass) If it is great, it is a great Thai restaurant and it is one of the three est in the Boston area, Very spicy, not not enough to make you suffer (too much) and you will not believe the menu when you see it. It is so extensive and you will not go wrong if you order a different option each time you visit as I do. It is extremely had to find a favorite! The waitstaff is wonderful, they are there even before you know you need them, Water refills are constant, if they see that you are getting low on peanut sauce or another condiment, you do not ask, it is refilled. Try It, You will Love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good Thai food, lovely place to dine. Service was a bit slow but worth the wait. I would oorder spicier food next time

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Best thai food in boston. I recently went there for a friends birthday I had the seafood volcano and it was flawless. I have never ordered a dish at Brown sugars that wasnt delicious. Love this place best in Boston!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai restaurants in Boston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is on Commonwealth Ave populated by Boston University students. Food is excellent. I like the papaya salad but it has lots of garlic. The curries are good and you can ask for brown rice instead of white. Parking is on the street at meters. It is close to the large hockey stadium so it gets busy during game time or other events.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were in town on a business trip and in the mood for Thai food, so we decided to have dinner at Brown Sugar. Located on Comm Ave by the BU West Campus, Brown Sugar has an inventive menu, terrific service, and is a great value. We started with some ribs which were sweet and fell off the bone. I had the Shrimp Scampi which had just the right heat level for me and a fabulous mix of vegetables and spices. My wife had the duck dish with pineapple, basil, and red bell pepper which she loved. The menu is extensive and priced to attract the BU students. Fabulous food and a great value....and terrific service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Sugar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Sugar Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.