We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Cafe

Brown Sugar Cafe
1033 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-1001 (Allston / Brighton)
617-787-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #335 of 2,820 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Best thai food in boston. I recently went there for a friends birthday I had the seafood volcano and it was flawless. I have never ordered a dish at Brown sugars that wasnt delicious. Love this place best in Boston!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai restaurants in Boston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is on Commonwealth Ave populated by Boston University students. Food is excellent. I like the papaya salad but it has lots of garlic. The curries are good and you can ask for brown rice instead of white. Parking is on the street at meters. It is close to the large hockey stadium so it gets busy during game time or other events.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were in town on a business trip and in the mood for Thai food, so we decided to have dinner at Brown Sugar. Located on Comm Ave by the BU West Campus, Brown Sugar has an inventive menu, terrific service, and is a great value. We started with some ribs which were sweet and fell off the bone. I had the Shrimp Scampi which had just the right heat level for me and a fabulous mix of vegetables and spices. My wife had the duck dish with pineapple, basil, and red bell pepper which she loved. The menu is extensive and priced to attract the BU students. Fabulous food and a great value....and terrific service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley, pa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Took my son to lunch after dropping him off at Boston University. This little restaurant is walking distance from West Campus. We had a very spicy rice dish. He is vegetarian, so they had many options for vegetarians, and you can customize your dishes. The Fried Ice cream is amazing, and the tea is fantastic! Great service and pricing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is always great. The pad thai is great - comes three different ways, but try other entrees - you can't go wrong. the fried banana dessert with ginger or coconut ice cream is superlative!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Sugar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Sugar Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.