We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Thai restaurants in Boston.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Cafe

Brown Sugar Cafe
1033 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215-1001 (Allston / Brighton)
617-787-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 2,673 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai restaurants in Boston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is on Commonwealth Ave populated by Boston University students. Food is excellent. I like the papaya salad but it has lots of garlic. The curries are good and you can ask for brown rice instead of white. Parking is on the street at meters. It is close to the large hockey stadium so it gets busy during game time or other events.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were in town on a business trip and in the mood for Thai food, so we decided to have dinner at Brown Sugar. Located on Comm Ave by the BU West Campus, Brown Sugar has an inventive menu, terrific service, and is a great value. We started with some ribs which were sweet and fell off the bone. I had the Shrimp Scampi which had just the right heat level for me and a fabulous mix of vegetables and spices. My wife had the duck dish with pineapple, basil, and red bell pepper which she loved. The menu is extensive and priced to attract the BU students. Fabulous food and a great value....and terrific service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley, pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Took my son to lunch after dropping him off at Boston University. This little restaurant is walking distance from West Campus. We had a very spicy rice dish. He is vegetarian, so they had many options for vegetarians, and you can customize your dishes. The Fried Ice cream is amazing, and the tea is fantastic! Great service and pricing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is always great. The pad thai is great - comes three different ways, but try other entrees - you can't go wrong. the fried banana dessert with ginger or coconut ice cream is superlative!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Deceptive name with well-priced, good looking & tasty food. Wine list leaves something to be desired for me. Expected more Asian influence. However, been there multiple times and haven’t had a complaint. Can’t go wrong with Brown Sugar Café when you’re craving Thai food!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Sugar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Sugar Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.