We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expansive menu & beer list” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grill & Tap

Sunset Grill & Tap
130 Brighton Ave, Boston, MA 02134-2811 (Allston / Brighton)
+1 617-254-1331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 2,670 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Description: Something is always brewing at Best of Boston's Award-winning beer bar. Here you will find the largest selection of beer on the east coast -- 113 taps and 380 microbrews as well as exotic imports. Join our beer club and earn rewards while enjoying every kind of beer under the sun. Take advantage of the yards, cask-conditioned beer, flight samples, vintage and new beers, seasonals, ciders, and more. We also features Boston largest selection of meads. Our extensive menu is served until 1am, and includes Boston's award-winning steam beer burgers and famous curly fries, original buffalo wings and giant nachos. Still hungry? Try our juicy BBQ steak tips, grilled fish, homemade pastas, tender Yankee ribs or our sizzling fajitas. Come in to Sunset Grill & Tap today and see what all the fuss is about. We look forward to seeing you!
Mass.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expansive menu & beer list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice spot, huge beer offering. Burgers, barbeque, Mexican items on menu. Large portions. Casual atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    75
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere near Boston
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Classic American-style Pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I used to frequent this great spot for years and drank many pints. Then I moved to the 'burbs. Last night I went to visit my old friend and it is still a fine spot. It's pull of course is its enormous selection of beers and ales on tap and in the bottle or can. I can only speak of the pub side of the menu with its interesting sandwiches, burgers, and appetizers. They are great. I had a burger "southwest style" with corn & black bean salsa and pepper jack cheese - delicious. I had two great pints of ale. The beer is not inexpensive. At this writing, the cheapest pint of quality ale went for $5.99. I go when in the neighborhood.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enormous (as in 300+!) beer selection and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've been to the Sunset Grill & Tap twice now, and both time I loved our experience. As a beer lover, this is paradise. The beer menu offers an unheard-of selection of over 300 beers from around the world and covering any style imaginable! They have about different 100 beers on tap, which is impressive (watch out for the yellow back page of the beer menu for the taps list), and a couple hundred more in bottles. The selection really covers all styles of beer.
I also saw a bunch of very good-looking cocktails passing by our table, if you are more inclined to have a mixed drink instead of beer.
The service here is great and fast. If you see a crowd of people standing in front of the door, don't let that discourage you. We thought both times we would have to wait at least 30 minutes for a table, but got one right away ever time (I think they may have you wait if you're a large group and need a big table).
Finally, the food: The food is great and really is not easy to choose. Best to make up your mind first whether you're more in the mood for American pub fare (wings, burgers, etc.), pasta, or Hispanic food. From there you'll still face a tough choice. I can highly recommend the sizzling fajitas!!!
If you're a tourist, you can get to the Sunset via public transportation. The T (B-line) stops only a 5-10 walk from the restaurant. Parking can be tough in this area since it's so full of bars, restaurants and shops.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is an awesome place to hang out with friends. I've been for birthdays before and it works really well. The nachos are excellent, especially if you add bbq pork.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best beer selection in Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you're a craft beer lover this place a is a MUST for anyone visiting the city or that lives here. Food is just ok but the beer selection makes up for it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grill & Tap also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Grill & Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grill & Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.