We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, amateur service for sure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Daily Catch

The Daily Catch
323 Hanover Street, Boston, MA 02113 (North End)
(617) 523-8567
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Daily Catch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 2,672 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
Description: With our black pasta dish: Aglio Olio rated top 100 in the country, The Daily Catch - Seaport is considered by many as the best place to enjoy Pasta, Seafood and most importantly Calamari in Boston. Footsteps from the water, you can enjoy the ocean breeze while sipping wine or cocktails on our Outdoor Patio. Or you can sit in any of our newly renovated dinning rooms with stunning views of the Boston Harbor and City Skyline while taking in the aroma of fresh ingredients from our open kitchen. We are the #1 Seafood Restaurant in Boston's Seaport District according to Zagat Food Ratings. Your reservation is only a click away! Please note: The Daily Catch - Seaport gladly accepts online reservations for our indoor dining-room. We are, however, unable to accept online reservations for our outdoor patio due to our inability to guarantee favorable weather conditions. Patio seating is offered to patrons, as weather and availability permits, on a first-come, first-serve basis. Thank You!
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious, amateur service for sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

It is a nice setting, and in warm weather it must be specatular. Their earlier restautant has always had wonderful Italina food, amd we wanted to try the new spot. The food did not disappoint - the same fine black pasta, clams, lobster diablo, nice sauces. The service was very clunky. We got our salads and within two minutes later had our entrees. We had hardly tasted our Caesars. I was asked if I was fine with an entree which was white pasta and a calamari sauce. Ot sounded good but I ordered black pasta and a clam souce, so I declined and requested what I actually ordered. Our cannolis were ordered after dinner, but two waiteres werent too sure why it took so long. Later they said they made the filling fresh - nice but bad timing. I'd go back, maybe for lunch. Maybe it was an off night, we all have those.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    122
    38
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Have to go at least once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went early evening on a Sunday and only had to wait a few minutes. We did a count, and there are only approximately 18 seats in the whole restaurant. Our server was the sister of the two brothers who own the restaurant - she was really charming, seemingly gruff, but a real sweetheart. We had broiled halibut, and also calamari with linguine in red sauce. The only problem with the calamari dish was that the calamari continues to cook in the hot sauce, so that with the first bites, the calamari was perfect, but it became increasingly chewy and tough as time wore on - that, however, is a problem with any seafood dish served anywhere, where the fish is swimming in the sauce - it continues to cook. The sauce and the linguine were delicious. The broiled halibut was perfect.
I love that the wine here is served in plastic cups, adds to the casual unpretentious charm of the place. Though the place is very small, we never felt rushed or that the staff was anxious to get us out in order to turn the table for the hungry people in line outside - that was a welcome change from Giacomo's a few doors down, also very good food, but we definitely felt like we were getting the bums rush the two times we ate there. We will return to Daily Catch, I am sure!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Copy-Heavy Chalkboard - So Ask Questions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Chances are, regular visitors to Boston's North End know about the unprepossessing restaurant, The Daily Catch. If you haven't eaten there while walking the neighbourhood, it's perhaps because you were put off by the line-up outside the door. (You may have peaked through the window and thought, "It's tiny!" It is, with seating for 16-20 people.) But don't give up.

Our foursome arrived at 1:00 p.m. on a chilly, but sunny, Friday in March. Two groups were queued ahead of us. It's true, we waited for close to an hour, but it wasn't a hardship. We had a chance to chat, socialize with others, and pop across Hanover St to Mike's Pastry. All good. (Note: the place does offer take-out.)

Once we got inside we were confronted by what can be described fairly as a copy-heavy chalkboard (perhaps it'd be best to leave your Asberger's pals at home - it's a bit overwhelming). Fortunately for us, we navigated the menu with acuity - and with the help of our server, i.e., he didn't say "they're all good choices." Also, we got suggestions from a couple of regular diners.

I won't spend too much time reviewing the dishes, simply because (a) the four of us love seafood (and love pasta just as much), (b) we're big eaters (see photo), and (c) as a result, may lack care and judgement, not to mention refined palates. Suffice it to say, each of the dishes we shared (including broiled haddock, calamari, scallops & linguine in a red sauce) was delicious - and served at the proper temperature, with fresh bread and butter. Also, the wine and beer list offers easy choices, i.e., it's modest but we thought it was fine. One of us had a glass of red, a beer, the other two stuck to soda).

Other quick things:

- avoid the line-up by going for a late lunch or early dinner (there's much else to do in the neighbourhood)
- The Daily Catch isn't for the gluten-free crowd (the owner may disagree, and offer suggestions, but he'd be fibbing);
- you can't reserve, and I don't believe there's room for parties larger than 6 people, though, if the place is quiet (unlikely), staff may be able to shuffle tables;
- if you have the option, it's best to walk to Hanover St (I believe the restaurant will validate parking, but you'll still pay something);
- go to the website (dailycatch.com) to check out the other locations in Boston (including the lovely, walkable Brookline);
- after your meal, walk 5 minutes to the venerable Bova's Bakery (corner of Salem & Prince) for delicious pastries (or simply cross the street from The Daily Catch to Mike's Pastry).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, authentic atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is an interesting restaurant. Essentially, it's about the food. This is not a restaurant that tries to distract you from sub-par food with a trendy atmosphere. The kitchen is a part of the restaurant. There's maybe seven tables in the whole place. That's part of the charm. Granted, this wouldn't be a place to have a business dinner, but you should know that before you go.

I had the calamari and lobster fra diavolo. Both were good, but probably could have been a bit better. I was disappointed that the calamari breading wasn't as crisp as I was expecting, and the lobster fra diavolo seemed to have a disproportionate amount of linguine. Overall, it was worth the visit, but probably wouldn't be a regular.

Prepare to wait if you don't get there as soon as it opens.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best fish ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The brothers running the show there are great did is awesome a chineese guy named Jimmy makes the food he is a great cook he if makes the best sauce of your going here be prepared to wait cuz the place is a little hole in the wall but food is worth the wait

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Daily Catch also viewed

 

Been to The Daily Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daily Catch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.