We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My Good Eats!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Pastry

Mike's Pastry
300 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-1801
617-742-3050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Pulaski, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oh My Good Eats!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The cannoli! The lines! The Boston Cream Pie! We opted for Mike's Pastry over Modern Pastry--you will probably get amazing bakery either way, but you MUST stop at one!! There are a wide variety of yummies to choose from--I got the peanut butter cannoli and the Boston cream pie, both of which were AMAZING!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,568
    578
    250
    71
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“LONG LINES, but good Canollis.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Coming to the North End for the first time, I was told to try the cannolis. They are very good, but long lines.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, mi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

OK, you are going to wait in line. But, the line moves fast, and be ready to order when you get up at the counter. we had a few cannoli's, then turned around and bought a dozen to go. They were insanely good, and super expensive but this was the best i have ever had anywhere. The hazelnut and chocolate were great, the shell was tender and the filling was light even though the cannoli had to weigh a pound.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I don't get the negative reviews...but I second the positive ones!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I'm not from Boston, so perhaps I'm not a good judge of Italian-style bakeries. But I saw a few very negative reviews, many of which recommended Modern Pastry sort-of across the street.
Well, I've been going to Boston for many years, first on business and now because my son lives south of there with his wife and my two adorable grand-daughters. And every time I go I buy a big box of treats from Mike's to take back to Memphis.
Today, I was in the neighborhood and walked across and down the street to Modern Pastry. If I only judged by what was in the window, sort of dried-out fake looking things, that would be enough for me. But I went in and the selection of pastries was small and nothing looked appealing.
One of the reviews said the counter people at Mike's were not pleasant. I was there this morning and although there was a crowd, I was very early, early enough that there wasn't a long line. That might explain why I got the same pleasant service I've gotten every single time in the 24 years I've been going there. Plenty of time to pick what I want, explanations of what each pastry was.
I can only believe that all those anonymous reviews from "A Trip Advisor reviewer on Facebook " must have been made by someone whose mother owns Modern Pastry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cannolis!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stop in to Mike's whenever I am in the North End of Boston. I have to admit I have case of a sweet tooth. I have only gotten their cannolis and I really enjoy them. Most are $3.50 each. The florentine which has a type of peanut brittle type of shell is $5.00. They have a huge selection of flavors as well as many other pastries, cakes, gelato, and coffee drinks. This last visit I got a Florentine, lemoncello, and amaretto which were good although everyone noticed that they appeared smaller than they used to be and I would have liked them to have a little more flavoring.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Pastry also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Pastry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.