We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouth watering, finger licking, scrumptious.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Pastry

Mike's Pastry
300 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-1801
617-742-3050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mouth watering, finger licking, scrumptious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I LOVE the Lobster Tails and their Tiramisu. I always get a kick from taking visitors to a bakery and telling them they should order a "Lobster Tail." They look at me as if I were nuts! Until the order comes...well worth waiting for a table and then taking a dozen home. Their cannolis, breads, cookies and MARZIPAN are awesome too! I love the Florentine Cannoli, which is sort of caramelized..hard to describe: You just have to go try it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    1,302
    480
    203
    66
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not your typical Cannoli!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have worked in an italian bakery growing up and often frequent italian bakeries in the bronx and little italy new york. So when told that Mike's Pastry had the best cannolis ever I had to visit. Like many of the reviews said the line was long but moved fast. When we got to the counter I was swept up with the fast talking servers and quickly spewed out 12 cannolis we wanted. I had a plan of just buying one and seeing if they were the authentic ricotta tasting cannolis but as I said when you get to the counter you can't just buy one. However, I wish I did. The authentic cannoli with the ricotta creme was very disappointing. The cheese which is the main ingredient to either making or breaking was very very sweet. Not a true Italian cannoli. However, the lemon filled cannoli was the best I tasted because it reminded me of something other than a cannoli and just a pastry. Would not go back again and for $3.50 a canolli a poor lesson to learn. Next time I will try Marias Pastry!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Canollis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Amazing cannolis! The Florentine cannoli is to die for and the chocolate covered cheese cannoli is also amazing. I always want to try something different besides a cannoli when I go to Mike's, but they are just so good that I can't bring myself to not order a cannoli.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Florentine Cannoli a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love going here any time I am in the neighborhood! The Florentine cannolis are my favorite kind, but they are all fantastic. I always leave with several extra pastries for the way home.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Bostonian's Guide to Mike's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just the facts:
1. Get a cannoli.
2. Get the lobster tail - it's surprisingly lighter than you'll expect and completely delicious.
3. Walk in & get left. Don't wait in the line that goes out the door - that's for tourists who believe that there is an order to that line. (I've made this mistake.)
4. Sit & order from the table-service waitress. She is fast!

The method behind the madness at Mike's:
It may look like there is a line out the door but don't wait in it - instead grab one of the first-come first-serve tables in the front of the bakery and a waitress will be over shortly to take your order. (Do not order at the counter & then sit unless you're ready for a steely glare from said waitress.) If you don't want to sit, go directly into the bakery and head to the far (far) left side of the counters where the lines are shorter once you're ready to order (once at the counter be ready to order, this is not the place to make decisions :) ). The staff don't pay attention to the line (they pay attention to whoever is standing in front of them) and they don't take time to provide instructions to those waiting in the line in an effort to make your wait more efficient - hence go where the line is shortest - i.e. the far left! You're not cutting those in the line along the far right side unless they smarten up as they enter and hope over to the line-less left side of things (which they won't because it's confusing and chaotic - take my advice and rise above).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Pastry also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Pastry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.