We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giacomo's Restaurant

Giacomo's Restaurant
355 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-1910 (North End)
617-523-9026
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was not thrilled when my wife told me we were going to a "no reservation, stand in line" restuarant. But after a 45 minute wait, it was worth it - very good Italian food, and a "no nonense" staff. I had the pasta special, which was a lobster ravioli - excellent. But you're there to eat the food, and quickly. Limited menu, even more limited wine list - be prepared to be in and out in 45 minutes, and go down the street to Mike's for dessert.

A fun, but different, experience - and a great value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    173
    59
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taylor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLANT ITALIAN FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

the dinner was AMAZING!!! there will be a little wait standing outside, only holds about 40 people in the whole place, but very much worth the wait. CASH ONLY also, make sure you have some when you get there. The food was incredible. Atmosphere was amazing, staff incredibly friendly. A definite MUST GO if in Boston.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than Italy's italian...almost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Came here with my parents last week. Well worth the 35 min wait (arrived at 545 wednesday). Come for food, not for spending quality time with friends or family. The line outside makes u feel pressure to hurry on up, and the tables are VERY close to each other. Not for large parties. BUT the homemade pasta is incredible. My mom and I shared the fusilli pasta special with lobster and shrimp. The homemade fusilli was incredible. The lobster being a little tough didn't really matter bc of how tasty the whole dish was. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cash only but good and loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Excellent seafood with Italian influence.
Get there around 6 if you haven't made a booking. Bostonians seem to eat early.
Nice to be in a restaurant with no music - actually there could have been music but the acoustics make it so loud that it is hard to even have a conversation - you go there for food and food alone.
It was worth it though and we went back but forgot the earplugs.
If you are a traditional old European like me you may need, like me, to grow up to the fact that the Americans have overtaken us in terms of quality and inventiveness of food in restaurants such as Giacomo. This is good, go there but take ear-plugs

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley
1 review
“Great food served in a rude and noisy restaurant ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

After a 90 minute wait in line we were seated in cramped seating. The waitress was incredibly inpatient and I've never felt so rushed and pressured to order, eat, and get out. She took my salad away while I was still eating it. And if you paid the staff to make more noise bussing and stacking plates, they couldn't be louder! All in all a jarring, grating experience. Yes, the good is great, but I would sacrifice some quality for a more peaceful dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giacomo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giacomo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giacomo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.