We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth The Wait!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giacomo's Restaurant

Giacomo's Restaurant
355 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-1910 (North End)
617-523-9026
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
albany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth The Wait!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

There is a reason there is always a line outside Giacomo's. Food is delicious and reasonably priced. Excellent chicken parm. Excellent everything. VERY small dining room. Cash only. No reservations at this location. They do have another restaurant on Columbus (near Symphony Hall) with the same delicious food that does take reservations. Waitstaff very friendly. Will be back next time we are in Boston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    173
    59
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

No reservations here and cash only. Worth the 45 minute wait. Food was wonderful, service was good and attentive.I would go again

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Best of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant, beautiful staff, love the calamari, best I've ever had!!!!! We say at a romantic window seat, enjoyed the sangria...very delicious red. Will be back later tonight!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“There is a Wait For a Reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Please...PLEASE do not let the wait scare you off, you will not regret it! Best eggplant parm I have ever had. It is super small inside, but that just adds to the experience. The bottles of wine are only $17 and the food is to die for. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I waited in line for an hour and a half for a seat in this restaurant this past weekend and it was SO worth the wait. I seriously thought about not waiting when I saw the line but 2 locals from the area got in line behind us and told us they wait in this line all the time and it is worth it. They were right. We had the Burrata appetizer special and it was wonderful. My husband had a special of orecchiette and sausage which was wonderful and I had the Fruitte de Mare which was amazing. My only comment is you need to understand this is not a 2 hour dining experience, you wait in line, order, enjoy your meal then leave to get dessert at a local bakery. If you want a relaxed long leisurely dinner, try another place but at some point you should try Giacomo's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giacomo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giacomo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giacomo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.