We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giacomo's Restaurant

Giacomo's Restaurant
355 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-1910 (North End)
617-523-9026
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #12 of 2,784 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: North End
Littleton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is all about the food. Looked over several reviews, and agree, It is a very small place and they do look for quick turnover. We were lucky. It was a Wednesday night, the weather wasn't great, and we went early (5 PM) got right in, and when we left about 40 minutes later, there was still no line; however, all the tables were pretty much full. Our waitress, Rosemarie, was awesome. Even though she told us to take our time, service was prompt and seemed polite, friendly, but rushed, and once we ordered our appetizer, the calamari, - things happened "quickly" the last taste was off the plate and the plate was removed. Both main entrées were excellent, the Ziti with shrimp. scallops & broccoli in a garlic cream sauce, And the Fettuccini with Prosciutto & Peas in a garlic cream sauce. All the choices on the menu board looked awesome. We did note that it is paper napkins, and no table cloth and CASH ONLY, also there were no real "salads" and of course no dessert,!; so it does turn a table around fairly quickly. But it just gave us an excuse to get coffee & desert at one of the North End's famous bakeries (Lets not quibble over either Modern or Mikes; both are outstanding.) The bill was very reasonable, in fact what we paid for the shared appetizer, 2 glasses of wine, and 2 entrées; was about what one meal with wine would cost in many other places in the North End. We would certainly go again, but it is not the place for a leisure supper, and quiet interlude. It IS all about great food at a great price. I think that is why it is so popular. We would definitely go back the food is as good as what we have had in Italy (and in some cases BETTER!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    349
    126
    45
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

They open at 5, no reservations, get there early to stand in line! There's only a few tables, so dont go if you are looking for a quiet romantic dinner....but boy is the food great!!! Menu is written on a blackboard, and you are looking into the kitchen as it is part of the dining room. Food is served with an attitude, followed by a wink.Dont expect to linger, as there are people waiting.

Bottom line- great food,"bad" attitude, and great prices....will definitely go again!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBOKEN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Favorite In Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This little Gem has us to return to Boston every fall. We love visiting this city and always make sure to stop in for the pumpkin pasta dishes. It is to die for. We don't mind waiting in line because we know the food will be worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I love seafood here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were lining up for more than half an hour on a cold December night but it was so worth it. The seafood is great!!! However the portion is so large... We ordered a 'Dinner for 2' and there came a huge plate of seafood linguini. Two of us managed to finish only half of it, so we packed home the rest. If you're also a small eater, try to order a small dish first to see how it fits you. And remember to bring CASH!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What's the fuss??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Such great reviews from Yelp and TripAdvisor, we had to try it. A cold night and it was 5:30. There was already a one hour wait as the restaurant is small. We stuck it out though because at this point our heart was set on it. The tables are on top of each other. Everything is rushed. The busboy filled our glasses with water three times and spilled it all over the table three times. Didn't bother to wipe. The waitress sprinkled cheese on our pasta and sprinkled it all over our tabletop too. We ordered a couple of appetizers, one being mozz with tomatoes, peppers and I asked for bread for the table. (I saw other had it). She said that that isn't the way they do it there. They give it to you after you order your entree. Really??? So I can't enjoy my app with bread? Cash only. The place is raking it in. Would I rave, would I go back. Not really. So many other places on that street, not sure what makes this one so "hot". Food was good, but it wasn't comfortable or leisurely. We waited longer in line than to eat our meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giacomo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giacomo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giacomo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Giacomo's Restaurant to your Saves list