We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mamma Maria perfetto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Maria

Mamma Maria
3 North Sq, Boston, MA 02113-2404 (North End)
(617) 523-0077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamma Maria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 2,879 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Prince Street
Transit: T to Haymarket or Government Center.
Woodstock, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mamma Maria perfetto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Professional staff. Excellent food, easy to find. The Caprese salad and the squid ink pasta were absolutely delicious!
And if you have time you can see Paul Reverse house which is about 100' away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    121
    35
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to experience Boston Restaurant Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

There are so many places to try for the two weeks of restaurant week in Boston. We wanted to go someplace special, and were so pleased we chose Mamma Maria. Many of their standard menu items are available to create a 3 course meal. My husband and I each chose something different so we could share. The oysters were delicious as was the meatball appetizer. For the main course, we had the pork tenderloin- flavorful, tender, and moist, as well as the pasta, and with barely enough room for dessert, we had the peach tart, and the chocolate panna cotta. Also, the bread and pesto with a glass of wine was amazing! The room we ate in felt like a family dining room- slightly loud with tables a bit too close. The waiters were attentive, but not overly friendly. With so many places to try in Boston, it is hard to go back, but I believe we will go back to Mamma Marias!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had dinner here recently and the food wad great.
Food: We tried a number of dishes across the table and were happy with most of them. We started with the duck led appetizer (Very good), the Mozzarella salad (Excellent), followed by the Lobster Ravioli (Excellent) and the Osso Buco (Very good). They have a decent wine list. The portions are quite large. The sauces are well cooked and have authentic flavors. This is a restaurant that does not serve up touristy Italian, but cares about the food and flavors.
Ambiance: We liked the ambiance, like most nicer neighborhood Italian restaurants.
Service: The service was excellent. Our waiter was very pleasant and took care of all our needs.
We liked our meal and experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GP,MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was an excellent restaurant.,from the lovely intimate setting to the way the food was presented. It is in an old house with three floors,and several small rooms. Some very fine Italian wines were on the menu. The food was superb. Started with a warm caprese salad , the mozzarella was imported from Italy. One more tomato would have been nice. My husband had osso buco very good. North end of Boston has some very fine restaurants. This was one of them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A contender for best North End restaurant, and high in Boston overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

There are probably more than 100 restaurants in the North End neighborhood. The main streets, such as Hanover, are literally walled with restaurants. Mamma Maria is off these beaten paths, and actually a bit tricky to find. The effort is worth it. The place is small, so reservations are recommended. There are three dining rooms, so the atmosphere is relatively quiet. Probalby not a good choice for families with small children. The wine list is small, but care was taken to assemble the selections. The cocktails were simple but very good; my Negroni was one of the best I've ever had. Excellent food all around, with the fresh seafood dishes taking center stage. Whenever we are in Boston, Mamma Maria is always on our list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Maria also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.