We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Maria

Mamma Maria
3 North Sq, Boston, MA 02113-2404 (North End)
(617) 523-0077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamma Maria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 2,823 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Prince Street
Transit: T to Haymarket or Government Center.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nothing to fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

As my husband and I finished our meal here at Mamma Maria on Friday night, I asked him what rating should I give the restaurant o TA. He replied that he found nothing to complain about, especially since we showed up on a Friday night at 8:00 with no reservation and they bent over backward to accommodate us. The food is creative and well prepared. We started with a warm mozzarella and tomato salad app and lamb gnocchi to share. If we had known we would be served olives with bread and a basil dipping sauce, we probably wouldn't have ordered two apps, but the imported mozzarella was warm and creamy and the tomatoes were perfectly roasted. The homemade gnocchi with a lamb ragu was rich, creamy and delicious. Our mains were roasted suckling pig with lentils for my husband and a rabbit pasta for me. Both were exceptional. The staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful. This will be our North End restaurant of choice from now on. I had read many reviews that commented on the noise level of the restaurant, and it's true, it's very noisy with convivial conversation (at least on the second floor, where we were) but it didn't bother us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    113
    34
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Visited this past week and the food was excellent, the service was superb and the atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. We started with the scallops which were cooked perfectly and seasoned just right and for main courses went with the Rabbit Pasta and Osso Buco which were both so good we ended up swapping dishes midway through the meal so we could enjoy both! In all an exceptional meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve was wonderful here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent our new years eve at Mama Maria and loved all 3 hours of it! Don't expect to be in a rush here, it's very much about enjoying the food and relaxing. The interior is well done in a slightly stuffy way, but if you enjoy it (I do), it will ingratiate itself with you!

Overall the food was well done, Italian and well presented. It was fun to say goodbye to the slightly older couples around us when we left just after midnight.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great experience. LOVE the atmosphere, incredible food, great service. Made us feel like we were back in Italy on our honeymoon! If going on a romantic date, be sure to reserve their single-table room (I think "table #19" or something like that). Pretty pricey, but we knew that going in so we weren't blown away. I don't feel ripped off, though...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico CIty
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Keep coming and coming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Mamma Maria is our preffered restaurant when in Boston. And we confirmed this on our last visit. Excellent food combined with excellent service always. Cuisine was excelent and this time the lamb trio was excellent and deserts are always a must. Try Mamma Maria at least once, even though it is on the pricey side of your options in town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Maria also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.