We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccelente!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Maria

Mamma Maria
3 North Sq, Boston, MA 02113-2404 (North End)
(617) 523-0077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamma Maria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 2,831 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Prince Street
Transit: T to Haymarket or Government Center.
Independence, OR.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Eccelente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We've eaten Italian food all over including some pretty remarkable spots in Italy. Mamma Maria's food is excellent and has, in my opinion, authentic Italian flavors and preparations. The food was kept simple in preparation having for the most part no more than 3 or 4 flavors per dish. To me that is a key and the essence of Italian cuisine-simple and pure with the freshest of ingredients. They have accomplished that goal well. Presentation was top notch and artfully done. Service was outstanding. I have studied and collected Italian wines for 30 years and found our wait person to be very knowledgable. I had selected 2-3 options and based on our entrees he selected one of them that was perfect.
Check out their menu and wine list at their website. This is not one of the "two entrees with red sauce and a bottle of wine for $30" restaurants that seem to line the streets of Boston's North End. It is on the higher end price wise, but as is often the case, you get what you pay for. That is not always true in the restaurant world, but in this case, I believe it is. If you are looking for a special evening or a fantastic meal, I don't know how you could go wrong.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    115
    34
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Once again - perfect food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Impeccable service which is so hard to get these days and heavenly food. They do the little tings too like when I asked the maitre d' to tell the waiter to put a brithday candle in a dessert for my daughter. It happened without having to remind them again. The osso buco is divine. Others in the party had fish, pork and beef dishes and everyone was pleased. Great old fashioned, proper service which really does increase the enjoyment of the meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great italian food and excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Appetizers: lobster pasta, mozzarella, fig/prosciutto and arugala salad were all tasty, but the fig/prosciutto was head and shoulders above the rest.

Entrees: osso buccu, pappardelle with rabbit, mushroom pasta and scallops. Osso bucco without a doubt the best. We ordered three for the table!

Desserts. Leave the rest, take the cannolo

Wine selection was pricey, but high quality.

Our server was amazing and made the experience memorable. Look for the guy who looks like Stanley Tucci.

Overall a great place for a social meal with a group of friends.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I recently enjoyed dinner here during restaurant week and what an incredible experience it was! The ambiance reminded me of a quaint family home with very elegant touches. The wine list was great! Numerous choices and great recommendations from the server. However, the food itself was the prize of the evening. The pairings of flavors on the plate is indescribable. I ordered the lamb gnocchi, fig glazed pork chop (not to be missed) and finished with maple cannoli. I enjoy food and fine dining experiences and I can honestly say this was one of my favorite meals. Great area of Boston to explore and why not enjoy an incredible meal as well!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, service and ambiance -- we totally enjoyed our dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We booked a private room for a family reunion dinner sight unseen via phone from Los Angeles. When we arrived, we found a lovely set up with a fully planned and prepared event with virtually no direction from us. The service was professional and warm and the food was fantastic from the appetizers to the dessert. We could not have asked for a better experience. I am a frequent business traveller and attend many conferences, banquets, etc. We were worried about North End 'kitsch', but, happily, this was not the case. Ours was a first rate experience and I highly recommend Mamma Maria, particularly for an intimate event such as ours.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Maria also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.