We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic in many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Regina

Pizzeria Regina
11 1/2 Thacher Street, Boston, MA 02113-1539 (North End)
(617) 227-0765
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,816 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
Innsbruck, Austria
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A classic in many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We can only confirm all the previous postive comments about this Pizzeria. Its' loud,it's got charme, it's fun, it tastes great, it feels Italian and its worth the wait for a table. Great atmosphere combined with truly fresh and tasty Pizza. Regina sets the benchmark for Boston!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    216
    61
    12
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pizza & service both excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I went to Regina Sunday before a game at Fenway. There was a festival in the North End, and before we entered the restaurant, a marching band entered, played inside, and departed! The atmosphere was festive. We sat down and Patrice, our waitress was right there with menus and ice water. Before we could order, another band entered, and it was hilarious. The place was already packed with diners, so they just stood where they could. After they left, we ordered a pitcher of beer and the Giambotta pizza. It was fantastic. Loaded with toppings, including pepperoni, sausage, onions and green & red peppers, as well as shredded basil, we enjoyed it thoroughly. Patrice has waited on us before and she was great. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great brick-oven pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is an excellent place to go for good pizza and a great experience in the North End of Boston. We waited in line for dinner with about 50 other guests. A gentleman came out and took the number in each party down on his list, and called the parties inside from the front door as tables became available. There is a menu posted outside the door so that you can plan what to order while you wait. I think we waited about a half hour. It was worth it! Inside, you must be prepared for noise, as they are constantly busy--but that does not mean you can't have a conversation. We were handed menus by our waitress as she passed by, given about 6-8 minutes to look it over, and then she took our order. We created our own 16" pizza with multiple toppings; it took about 20 minutes to come, and it was huge! The toppings were fresh, the crust crisp, etc.--delicious! However, if you don't like brick-oven pizza, then you might not enjoy it. The restroom there is tiny, but clean. Our waitress was friendly, and made sure to ask if we were doing all right as she passed. The prices are reasonable as well. After you pay, there is another door through which you exit, so the flow of traffic at the front door doesn't stop. We would go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great tasting Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have eaten at other Pizzeria Regina restaurants but the original on Thacher street is the best tasting. We usually get the sausage cacciatore pizza which is loaded with chunks of onions, peppers, and slices of sausage. This is purely just a pizza place. They do not sell salads, pasta,desserts or other italian dishes. The service is usually quick but not always friendly depending who the waitress is. On our last visit, the waitress was very friendly and attentive. I wish they would clean it up a bit and upgrade the decor and bathrooms.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic Thin Crust Pizza in Boston's North End.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I ate here with my wife and son on a Friday night in August. We arrived about 6 p.m. and there was a line of 20 - 25 people in front of us and we were seated within 10 minutes. Expect a line at virtually any popular dining establishment in the North End, especially on the weekends.

Our waitress was friendly and efficient. This is a no-frills, old school pizza joint. They don't sell any entrees except for the pizza. All three of us ordered small individual pizzas and they were all tasty. Service was quick.

My only quibble is I wish they had a little smaller individual sized pizza. None of us could finish the smallest size they offered.

The dining room is fairly small and loud when it's full. It's a good value for a quick meal in the North End.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Regina also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.