We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Regina

Pizzeria Regina
11 1/2 Thacher Street, Boston, MA 02113-1539 (North End)
(617) 227-0765
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 2,851 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

When I lived in the north end, I was a regular at Pizzeria Regina. Their Meatball Pomodoro is my personal favorite, but every pizza that Regina's makes is great. The restaurant gets a little crowded with tourists during the weekends and at lunch during the weekdays and is crowded with locals most nights. You may have to wait a bit for a table and you may have to wait a bit if you're just ordering take out, but it's worth it. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    248
    70
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yet another "Best ever" (bestevah...)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I really find it hard to enjoy pizza ordered elsewhere anymore - the quality of Regina's food, the significant CHUNKS of cheese, the spicy hot oil on the table for those who would like to drizzle it on the pizza - for all these reasons, I honestly can say it is the best pizza I have ever had anywhere at anytime. And I come here often so it is not just a one-time thing. Sure, they staff can appear quite loud and even downright rude, but underneath they are all, each and every one, real sweethearts. Just smile pleasantly and do whatever they tell you to do (best to do it quickly), then sit back and enjoy the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

You don't need to pile on the extra meat and cheese. The sauce and dough make this wonderful pie with good cheese. Pizza the way it is best.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We were lucky that we didn't wait in line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We ate at the one in the North End. Had heard so much about it. We just stopped by right at the opening of dinner and sat at the bar-no wait at all. I have heard that lines can be brutal. Was the pizza good? Yes! Hot, fresh with good crispy-chewy crust. Was it worth waiting in line for a hour or more? Nope. The bartender was great. He was so paranoid and right wing, that he made me shake my head. Tiny little wine glasses and decent selection of american and Italian wines to choose from...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Original Regina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have lived in the North End for a long time, and have been going to the Regina for years. We survived all those hot Summers with no AC, just to eat this pizza. The ovens are seasoned to cook these pizzas just right,it's the beast

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pizzeria Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.