We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The #1 Best Thin Crust Pizza in Boston area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Regina

Pizzeria Regina
11 1/2 Thacher Street, Boston, MA 02113-1539 (North End)
(617) 227-0765
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,831 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The #1 Best Thin Crust Pizza in Boston area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Best flavored pizza and truly a thin crust. Try the artichoke with pepperoni..YUM. Boston, North End location and Medford at Station Landing are great and similar. BF said she tried another location after having one of mine from Medford and it was not the same at all???she ws very disappointed...I'm sure. Guess it depends on who's cooking. She went to a Regina's up on the North Shore near N.H. or in N.H. Anyways, I just love my location and we often treat guests to their pizza at home using the take-out service. All guest are amazed at how good their pizza is. Second choice is Santarpio's then Bertucci's.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    246
    68
    15
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chartley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Authentic. Pizza and Local Flavor Combined.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The fact that the address is "11 1/2" Thatcher Street tells you something right from the start. Everything about this place is authentic and unique. Count on tourists and locals shoehorned together in a pizzeria that could never be recreated in today's world.

Despite all of the quirks, or perhaps because of them, folks are willing to stand outside for awhile, regardless of weather. It seems as though the line is self regulating though. Impatient people in front of you tend to drop out. Just when you think the line isn't moving, bam, 4 parties get seated at once. Once you are seated you are insulated from the madness outside. There are no hungry diners looking at your table like it's beach front property. That said, you will be expected to keep things moving along. Lingering is not encouraged.

Leave your customer is always right attitude at home. In this place, the restaurant is right. Follow their lead for a great experience.

A large cheese pizza, a large meatball pizza, two glasses of house red (served in small beer glasses) and a pitcher of soda cost $52 pre-tip. Whole experience took 55 minutes including wait outside. In case you are curious, restaurant is a 6 minute walk to TD Garden.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's so fun to eat at a restaurant with so much history! Regina Pizzeria has been in business since 1926. It was my first time but my husband has been there before, he said we were supposed to wait outside until someone came to get us. When a worker poked his head out of the door, we asked where he wanted us to wait for a table and he pointed across the street- how 'bout over there? It was a Monday night so we only had to wait a few minutes, my husband said he has waited up to 45 minutes to eat there. We ordered a large pepperoni pizza for 3 of us and had a slice left over. It is delicious pizza! I love the brick oven flavor on the crust! It's a Boston tradition- you have to eat there if you're visiting Boston!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“worth a wait outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

eat at the original one- almost didn't wait, for fear the line would be long. we were seated within 15 minutes and had some of the BEST pizza i have ever had..... Worth it .. Not to be missed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Easton, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Closest to New York Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Pizzeria Regina has some of the best pizza in the Boston area. It comes the closest to being like New York pizza. Nice thin, crispy crust, with tasty sauce and toppings. Highly recommended and a good value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pizzeria Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.