We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of enVision Hotel Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added enVision Hotel Boston to your Saves list
enVision Hotel Boston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   81 South Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02130 (Jamaica Plain / Mission Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Coalinga, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have been on an extended road trip and enVision is our favorite hotel of the 4 weeks we've been traveling. All of the staff was professional and friendly, but a special shout out to Dayne, the doorman, bellhop, valet, and more. He was so nice and gave us some advice he did not need to give which saved us a lot of money. We were on the top floor and heard just a tiny bit of street noise, but it calmed down at night. The room was beautiful, clean, and had little extras like candies for each of us before bed. The hotel is just a half block from the T line, which took us anywhere in Boston we wanted to go in a matter of minutes. From the front door of the hotel to the Boston Common was less than 30 minutes in all. We loved this hotel and find nothing negative in the least to say.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee P, Hotel Manager at enVision Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Rachel R,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It is such a compliment to hear that we were one of your favorite hotels during your road trip! Thank you for your kind words about Dayne, we will definitely pass along your compliments.

We hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in Boston,

Sincerely,

Aimee Plouffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    74
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
89
82
25
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in late June for 3 days. We were attending a wedding in JP. We booked in April and, as our daughter was also coming along with her husband and son, we asked to be put on the same floor as them to help with our grandson. I was in charge of food etc. for breakfast and snacks. We checked our reservations a few days before we arrived and were assured that everything was as requested. Unfortunately when we arrived we discovered we were on another floor and when I spoke to the desk I was told that nothing could be done at that point. I was a little miffed by the attitude of the lady on the desk but did not make a fuss. That being said, everyone else on staff we encountered could not have been more helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee P, Hotel Manager at enVision Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mairead468,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay. We are delighted that you chose to stay at enVision Hotel while attending a wedding in JP. I apologize for the misunderstanding about the room assignments, but I am glad that you found the rest of the staff to be helpful and friendly and we hope you had a fantastic time at the wedding!

Sincerely,

Aimee Plouffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Travelling alone to Boston from Australia for a short study stay (two weeks) was a little daunting, but arriving exhausted I was warmly welcomed and staggered to my room (402) which was just a lovely oasis!
This hotel is immaculate, modern, and extremely comfortable.
Even more importantly, the staff are just outstanding: with particular mention to Marlenys (hopefully spelt correctly), and Dale. Thank you for making my stay so enjoyable! Housekeeper Victoria wrote notes to me to thank me for tips and to ask if I was enjoying my stay here.. All in all it's a very special hotel, with an atmosphere that is just so much better than a larger, faceless hotel.
In my opinion the street was not noisier than any other street in Boston, I had prepared and brought earplugs with me but I didn't need them at all.
I understand people's concern about the area: there are no great eateries directly within the street, but the t is so close and so convenient, who cares?
Next time I visit Boston, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee P, Manager at enVision Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Athena2111,

Thank you for your wonderful comments.We take great pride in providing great service as well as immaculate, comfortable rooms. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Boston and we hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in Boston!

Sincerely,

Aimee Plouffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Every single staff person with whom we interacted was wonderful. We arrived later than expected due to airline delays. The doorman/bellman was welcoming and made a special effort to offer our youngest traveler (15) an opportunity to access the dessert bar that had just been put away. We had requested a roll-away bed that was not in our room when we returned from the Red Sox game later that evening. The night manager got the bed right away and deducted the charge from our account. We have always believed that the measure of a company is not whether errors are made (we all make them!) but how the errors are handled. Well done! We were particularly impressed by how the staff treated each other. An indication of a good business is the courtesy of the staff to each other. It was a delight to be around such happy people.

The rooms are immaculately clean with comfortable beds. A microwave, mini-fridge, water, robes, slippers, and toiletries were provided. The king suite is a set of king rooms connected by a small foyer. Excellent for a family or pair of couples traveling together. The decor of the hotel is modern but cozy with light colors in the hallways that brighten the narrowness of the hotel.

A small but well-appointed gym is located on the lower floor. Parking is expensive for most of the US, but reasonable for Boston. Given the location of the hotel, we were pleased to have parking underneath the hotel with security cameras.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is not in the best neighborhood. Neither is it in the worst. As a family, we did not feel uncomfortable walking back from Fenway Park (1.5 miles) at night. During the day, the members of our party felt comfortable walking alone. The green-line of the T (lightrail system) has stops half a block away and a station, where you can purchase tickets, just a bit further away. Thus, as long as you can walk a few blocks, you can access most of Boston easily through public transportation. Although we were in Boston for leisure, we were impressed by the hotel's attention to its location near the many hospitals. They have contracted with a local taxi service to provide shuttle service for guests who are staying at the hotel to visit patients.

Food is not next door, but is accessible. A chinese restaurant is located about 1 block away. A pizza joint and a sub shop are located about 2 blocks away. Within a half mile radius, there are a few restaurants with good food. (The New England Soup Factory and the Koo Koo Cafe are both good choices.) The hotel has a small "cafe" that provides TV dinners, sup cups, oatmeal cups, tea, coffee, pastries, and snacks.

We heartily recommend this hotel. It is a good price in an expensive city with a convenient location for hospital visits or Fenway Park. Again, the delightful people and room cleanliness make the hotel a great buy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee P, Hotel Manager at enVision Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear TryingoutTraveling,

Wow! Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are elated that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we hope all of you had a blast the Red Sox game! Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff, we take such pride in delivering exceptional customer service and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope we can welcome you back to enVision Hotel the next time you are in Boston!

Sincerely,

Aimee Plouffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

My son (10yrs) and I were visiting Rhode Island for our friends wedding and thought I'd would be great to explore Boston before flying home to the UK. So glad we booked to stay here, really is a great hotel.
Staff were extremely helpful & friendly. There was a slight mix up on our room (one bed when I'd booked twins) which was corrected straight away.
During our visit the city was full of snow, the hotel was lovely and warm :-)
Our room was spotlessly clean, which is very important to me. Housekeeping staff really do a brilliant job. Bathroom had mini bottles of shampoo, shower gel etc which was a lovely touch (hand soap would have been appreciated too!)
Trams were close by so we managed to explore easily.
Will definately stay here again and have recommended to friends.

Only negative point (which isn't a reflection on the hotel itself) ... The cab driver who picked us up to take us to the airport really annoyed me. Instead of taking a direct route to the airport he detoured us in completely the opposite direction, then round all the hospitals, Chinatown, the common... I guess he thought I was a stupid clueless tourist and wanted to take more money from me by doubling our journey time! Even my ten year old son noticed and asked why he was taking us the wrong way!! Will not be using the cab service again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee P, Hotel Manager at enVision Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear MuggleandMe,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I would like to apologize for the cab driver that took you to the airport the morning of your departure. We are delighted that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy the city with all the beautiful snow!

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!

Sincerely,

Aimee Plouffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We needed a hotel in Boston for 2 nights. We're a family of 6 so it's a challenge to find a place that will accommodate all of us in one room. They did not have a double room for us, but offered one King room for all of us, which was exactly what we needed for a visit this short and fit our budget perfectly. We arrived the next day and were amazed to find out that the manager had upgraded us to a suite of two king rooms and two full bathes, all for the price of one king room! This is not trivial for a hotel, and I cannot thank Ryan and his staff enough.
This is a small boutique hotel, very clean and with good access to the Metro. Our room faced the river, which was a nice bonus.
I highly recommend this hotel on your next visit to Boston!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee P, Hotel Manager at enVision Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Yaov H,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at enVision Hotel. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the king bedroom suite and your comments about Ryan will certainly be shared with him and the rest of the staff.

Sincerely,

Aimee Plouffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Beautiful hotel; conveniently located to hospitals; sweets and treats waiting in lobby; friendly, competent, and accommodating staff; reasonable fitness center; comfortable rooms; new and up-to-date everything; high praise overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee P, Hotel Manager at enVision Hotel Boston, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Emily D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at enVision Hotel. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Aimee Plouffe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to enVision Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about enVision Hotel Boston

Address: 81 South Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Jamaica Plain / Mission Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — enVision Hotel Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers seeking a unique hotel experience with a neighborhood charm, capture the perfect picture of your ideal stay and pay a visit to the gem that is enVision Hotel Boston, nestled just outside the heart of the city. Our 39 room boutique Boston hotel is settled in a residential neighborhood and has some room overlooking Olmstead Park. A perfect location if you are visiting any hospital in the Longwood Medical Area.enVision Hotel Boston- Modern in Design, traditional in service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your enVision Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage enVision Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.