We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Resounding Success” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyric Stage Company of Boston

Lyric Stage Company of Boston
140 Clarendon Street, Boston, MA 02116
+1 617-585-5678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 220 Activities in Boston
Type: Theaters, Theater & Concerts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of The Lyric Stage Company of Boston is to produce entertaining, challenging, and provocative theatrical productions of varying genres and styles that reach a wide variety of audiences through reasonable ticket prices and outreach programs. We are committed support and nurture the talents of Boston-area theatre artists through employment, training, and development opportunities.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always A Resounding Success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Moved to Metro Boston from Maryland last year and immediately sought out a small intimate professional theatre company. Bingo - Lyric Stage Company of Boston. The plays are far ranging, the actors superb, the performances outstanding. And Spiro Veloudos, the Artistic Director seems omnipresent, making sure everything is "greased" and greeting and listening to the the attendees. Bravo!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Multi-year season ticket holder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We love the Lyric Stage. We've enjoyed a broad spectrum of performances there, from the popular to things we'd never heard of. There's not a bad seat in the house, and the imaginative, absorbing staging keeps the focus on the actors and the story. Also, the ticket prices are an excellent value. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Little Company that Could”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Most every time I go to Lyric Stage I am impressed by how much they do with ... very little. You walk in and you might say to yourself, my college drama department had a bigger black box theatre. But this is by no means rinky-dink. I've seen several plays and musicals (the best being Grey Gardens) and am generally impressed. It's a very nice house with a talented creative team. Come out and support them -- in the end, you'll be doing yourself a favor.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant Live Theater in the Heart of Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Lyric Stage of Boston continues to delight, inspire and amaze this reviewer, his family and friends with its eclectic offerings. From an antic performance of The Mikado, to the thought-provoking "Thirty-Three Variations" we have not once been disappointed. The theater itself is small and intimate, so you can see and hear everything easily. Each production is unique so you experience a wide variety of talents in acting, set design, lighting, and costuming. If you love live theater and haven't tried the Lyric Stage, do yourself a favor and go soon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lyric Stage Company of Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyric Stage Company of Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.