We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cactus Club
939 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)
(617) 236-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,279 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Caribbean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Hereford Street
Transit: Take the green line to Hynes Convention Center/ICA. When you exit the T station take a left onto Massachusetts Ave. Take your first left onto Boylston Street. Cactus Club will be one block down on your left side, on the corner of Boylston and Hereford Street after the fire department and across from Hynes Convention Center.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We first tried the Cactus Club a few years ago when we were visiting Boston. We noticed it was busy and felt like Mexican so we dropped in. We loved it and returned again a week ago when in Boston for a Sox game. There were six of us including two children. We tried the guacamole as an appetizer along with their signature margarita and mojito. Very tasty. For the main course most of us had the enchiladas which were terrific. Food is always good and service is outstanding. The atmosphere is fun and energetic but not over the top. I've never had a chance to personally experience the bar area but it's darker and more like a pub. Prices are reasonable and portion sizes are more than sufficient. Never disappointed and recommend to anyone looking for a good Mexican feast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went with a big group of 19 girls for dinner during a bachelorette party. They had a table ready for us, two servers who handled our loud group very well and efficiently. Food wasn’t bad, drinks were okay, atmosphere was just okay. During our time there, an obnoxious guy at the next table was extremely rude and started a fight with our table. (He was very drunk.) The manager promptly removed him and apologized to us. It was handled perfectly. It is a good place to go to grab a beer and Mexican with some friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just popped in for a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a good atmosphere and service was helpful and friendly. We didn't eat just had drinks. It seemed clean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“California Mexican Food In Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

After 4 days visiting Boston, my bf and I were craving something familiar, mellow and tasty- Mexican food! This restaurant is a great place to grab a cantina style dinner that you would find on most corners in California. Great food, great service, good margaritas and a LOT of food. My bf ordered the tilapia fajitas and I ordered the tostada salad appetizer, which I ate as a meal. Great spot!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good drinks, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Good selection of food and drinks. Had a mojito and there was lots of fresh mint. Friends had margaritas and those were good too. The food was fair good, not fantastic, but good. Price was decent too so all in all a good place to go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.