We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem, Really” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Romero

Casa Romero
30 Gloucester St, Boston, MA 02115 (Back Bay)
(617) 536-4341
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa Romero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #707 of 2,833 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Back Bay
S. Walpole
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, Really”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Casa Romero is one of those little restaurants that make you want to keep it a secret for your own pleasure. It is entered off an alley on Gloucester street in Boston.

The service was very good and responsive not pushy. They gave you just the right attention. The menu is not your usual MEX meals. It is very eclectic and all of our meals were excellent. There is so much to choose from that you will definitely want to return.

They have a reasonable selection of wine but their specialty is the tequila drinks. They are good portions, a bit pricey but definitely prepared with good quality liqour not the usual bar brand.
One drawback is that it is a small restaurant and it got crowded and very noisey. It was very difficult to have a conversation with the noise level. Next time I will ask for seating in a corner area or try to go at a less crowded time so we can really enjoy the meal.

They did a good job controlling the spiciness of the meal at my request.

Prices were reasonable for the portion sizes and the presentation was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    43
    28
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Love the Sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband & I love this restaurant for not only the Sangria but for the food. It is not Tex Mex it is authentic Mexican food and it is delicious. Tucked away on alley in Boston it is a little gem. We have been going here for years. In the summer we love sitting on the outside patio.
Margaritas are also good. Strongly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Through the park and Down the alley to a super find. Great menu includes true Mexican ingredients like hibiscus flowers & cactus. Excellent sangria, good service and great food with superb sauces. Take the time - will not disappoint.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrific Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We found Casa Romero with an internet search and made a reservation (recommended). The rather gruff server turned out to be very charming and the restaurant accomodated some substitutions for the kids and for us (we are vegan). The food was terrific, and the margaritas were hard core.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

It sells itself on authentic Mexican food. Okay, it seemed to live up to that but I would have liked a little more of it for a little less dollars.
I had the chicken fajitas only to find that it came with only one, small fajita. So I wanted fajitas and ended up with a fajita (singular). A small thing perhaps but I ordered a port off the menu and it took a while because they had to go to another restaurant to find one! The service was good and the staff pleasant. However, we felt rushed at the end because the server left and the section was empty. When we left we found that the other section was still busy and we needn't have left so hurriedly.
Should you go there? Yes, but be prepared for overpriced and not so stunningly tasty meals -- but they are `authentic.'

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Romero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Romero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.