We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flour Bakery & Cafe

Flour Bakery & Cafe
131 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 02116 (South End)
(617) 437-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,865 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Café, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: South End
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Best breakfast / light lunch option in the back-bay area. Sandwiches, salads and soups are all great and fresh. And then you have delicious desserts. Great quality!
Too bad you can hardly find a place to sit down and enjoy your breakfast...
They should add more seating space. Sometimes customers get a bit too aggressive about finding a table (free seating) and they spoil your experience....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    110
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Small portions but lots of flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Portions are small for the price, but everything is fresh and delicious so it is almost acceptable. Staff are so friendly and really on the ball. Try a twice baked almond brioche. Yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and great place for a quick breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

this was directly across the street from our hotel (Hotel 140) and right across from the Clarendon street exit for the Back Bay T stop. Great place for a quick breakfast. The sandwiches also looked good and fresh and very reasonable. The line (mostly business people) moves quickly and there are individual tables and a large common table.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Bakery Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The baked goods are absolutely wonderful. Although I haven't sampled them all (but would love to) the ones I've had have been perfection.
Plus the sandwiches are delicious as well. They are served on excellent bread and filled with quality ingredients.
This a perfect spot for lunch and for a sweet treat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I make a detour to hit this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We used to live around the corner from the south end location. Now, it is more likely that we hit the one near the Children's museum. My ONLY complaint is that it can get really crowded and you can wait. The offerings are original and delicious. I tend to order the veggie sandwiches, but my meat eating family assure me that anything with bacon is aaaaahmazing. I wish we had this place in the burbs . . .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flour Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Flour Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flour Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.