We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buttery sticky goodness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flour Bakery & Cafe

Flour Bakery & Cafe
131 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 02116 (South End)
(617) 437-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,818 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: South End
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Buttery sticky goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ok, all we had time for was a sticky bun, but it was a 5 star bun! We swung by on the way to the airport, but we'll definitely be going back on our next trip to Boston!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    133
    84
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Lunch at Flour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We had an awesome bite to eat at Flour and loved it. The ambiance is quaint and cute, but get there before the lunch rush or you will be sure to stand in a long line (at least on a Saturday). I woukd gladly come back to this place, but don't expect a full sit down menu. It's a cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“lilibetoronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

truly delish...wish we had found it sooner...we had breakfast...they use real maple syrup...busy and exciting...well located...do not miss!!! a real treat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely place with excellent cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Flour is a local bakery/café chain that has been establishing a reputation for itself in Boston. While the coffee is good, the real reason to come here is for the cake (and the rest of the baked goods). Let’s face it, anywhere with the motto “make life sweeter... eat dessert first!” is going to get my vote!

Where the Washington St branch of Flour really scores is as a place to sit and eat your cake (who said you can't have your cake and eat it?). It's a bright, airy space, with the seating off to one side so you aren't bothered by the constant stream of takeaway customers, but still feel part of the cafe.

A note about the coffee: while there are better places to go for coffee, the coffee's pretty good and a cut above the average offering. As a place to go for coffee and cake it can't be beaten.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Portabella mushroom, mozzarella, pesto sandwich was fabulous. Accidentally threw away a personal item and staff were patient and friendly about helping to look for it. Everything looked fabulous. Will definitely go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flour Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Flour Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flour Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;