We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is cray cray good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flour Bakery & Cafe

Flour Bakery & Cafe
131 Clarendon St, Boston, MA 02116 (South End)
(617) 437-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 2,881 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: South End
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This place is cray cray good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Forget a balanced breakfast or lunch. Just order some coffee, a sticky sticky bun and enjoy every second of it. Eating that sticky sticky bun during their hectic lunch rush allowed me cancel out all the noise and zone out. I was on cloud 9, it is that good. Totally worth the drive and waiting in traffic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    112
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontaro
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Organized Madness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place was packed at lunch, it was efficient though, friendly staff take your order by computer and quickly get the food to you. I had a soup, tea and an oatmeal cookie. Under $12!!! The place is buzzing fresh baked goods everywhere and the smell is divine. Seating is limited but the atmosphere is fun, and perfect for a quick bite!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“OK sandwiches; fantastic desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I ate at 2 different locations in Boston and wasn't terrifically impressed by the sandwiches. But I tried a variety of pastries; all were very good, and the Boston cream pie was among the best I've ever had. The filling was more of a whipped cream than a pastry cream (custard), and it had a hint of spice that reminded me of tiramisu.

When I'm in town again, I'll buy dessert and skip the sandwich. I didn't love their version of the Oreo, either, but it was far superior to the kind sold in supermarkets. They had another jumbo sandwich cookie made with lime cream filling and a cornmeal cookie, and that was very tasty.

Given the customer volume, they had a very efficient order/ payment system, and all the workers were fast and polite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eat Dessert First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hands down the best bakery and sandwich cafe in Boston! All the bread is homemade, they offer the best BLT (yes BLT) ever as well as the egg sandwich, lamb sandwich, roast beef sandwich. The coffee and blueberry muffin tops are to die for. I have been to every Flour in Boston - yes I am obssessed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great gourmet deli near the children's museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great stop for a quick meal before visiting the children's museum! Fresh and healthy choices, great bakery items as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flour Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Flour Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flour Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.