We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but beware….” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Espalier

L'Espalier
774 Boylston Street, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)
(617) 262-3023
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Espalier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $41 - $100
Cuisines: American, French, Continental, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield St.
Transit: Copley Square T
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good but beware….”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Last week, on Friday, March 22, our family of 4 went in to celebrate one of our daughter's birthday. WE were given a nice table, as we had requested. I would say the food was good but not exceptional. I would recommend the chef to replace the sweetish, dessert-like offerings at the very beginning with something else, more savory rather than sweet. My cooked oysters were excellent but the portion was super tiny. The lamb was tender and flavorful and the portion adequate. The chocolate dessert was a letdown, a glorified lava cake like you find everywhere. I expected something a lot better.

The worst part was what happened the next day. WE had paid by credit card, a card we seldom use. The very next day, our credit card company alerted us about fraudulent activity. Our card was being used to order hundreds of dollars worth of electronics from http://WalMart.com. Luckily for us, our credit card company is vigilant and alerted us and promptly closed the account. I contacted the restaurant and the manager absolutely denied that anything like that could have happened through one of his employee's dishonesty. But there is no other explanation since that card was only used the previous day at that restaurant and nowhere else.

In conclusion, if you go, pay by cash and don't go for the sweet introductory things.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    83
    44
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited L'Espalier for our anniversary a few months ago and had an absolutely wonderful meal. I'll start by saying the service was top notch, absolutely perfect. We enjoyed several appetizers and our main courses were amazing, tons of flavor and perfectly balanced. After dinner we had a selection of cheeses and then finished the meal with some delicious sorbet. L'Espalier is a wonderful restaurant to visit for a special occasion or celebration, the atmosphere is spectacular and the food is delicious. We will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pretty pricey, but really wonderful experience. The service was excellent, the food delicious and the tea was exceptional - beginning with the "garden in a glass" through tasting almost every one of the teas on the menu! Highly recommend for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheese, cheese, and more cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in one afternoon for a cheese plate after hearing about the breadth of their cheese selection. Eighteen cheeses expertly selected, described, and presented. A cheese lover's must do!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“VERY special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had bought vouchers for a 10 course dinner which were to cover all but tax and tip but with wine and cocktails we still had a whopping bill. Just saying. However, this may be the best restaurant in Boston and worth it if you can splurge (or are a 1%-er in which case you probably eat here all the time and the door man knows your name). From the street an elevator takes you up to the restaurant which is quite nice, simple yet elegant. We ordered cocktails and then wine and food started coming before the wine got there. Whoa! Turns out, these were little pre-meal tastes. Some amuse bouche if you will They and the actual dinner were one exquisite dish after another. Really, the food and service are wonderful. Our wait person was knowledgeable and yet down to earth. One of my favorite things about L'Espalier is the cheese cart. Beautifully presented it is an opportunity to sample some amazing cheese. If you want a special night out, this is the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Espalier also viewed

 

Been to L'Espalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Espalier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.