We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cheese selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Espalier

L'Espalier
774 Boylston Street, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)
(617) 262-3023
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Espalier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $41 - $100
Cuisines: American, French, Continental, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield St.
Transit: Copley Square T
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent cheese selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The dining experience at L'Espalier is quite unique in Boston - although the dishes are a little more "fancy" than I usually like (focus is on the presentation and unusualness of the food rather than the actual deliciousness of a dish) it's always an eye-opening experience with new flavors and combinations of foods that you'll enjoy. The best part, however, is the cheese selection - you can have a cheese platter for an appetizer or dessert, and they have the finest selection in Boston. You can even go there during the day to buy some of the cheeses that you especially liked. They focus on a lot of local (New England) dairy farms, but have a wide range from around the world. If nothing else, go there for one of their monthly cheese tasting and be prepared to be blown away!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    240
    73
    40
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved the "Salon"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a Red Sox game and had heard that this restaurant was amazing. Not being dressed for a fancy meal we were nervous to even stop in. The hostess was very nice and allowed us to sit in the "Salon". We enjoyed an amazing cheese plate and glass of Westport Rivers hubby in an incredible atmosphere. Bravo!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I think people do not appreciate what a deal this is for lunch-served every day. It is prix fixe (or ala carte) and it gives those with a couple hours to spare the most serene, relaxed and satisfying lunch experience that you will ever have. It reminds me of London in the approach to having a civilized meal. The tea is without peer in Boston, as is the cheese course. We dined here several times this month, both with and without our teenagers--and every time was a gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Michelin?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the highlight of a 4 night sports weekend in Boston. Service is amazing and the food should definatly be Michelin Rated. I would say the pricing is also very reasonable considering the service and the quality of food. If i lived in Boston, I would be here often!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best dining in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The quality of ingredients and perfect presentations make this possibly the finest dining experience in Boston. The service is polished and professional without being stuffy and the restaurant decor is pleasant and unobtrusive. Have made several visits and it's never disappointed. The great cheese selection is a pleasing touch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Espalier also viewed

 

Been to L'Espalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Espalier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.