We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cheese selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Espalier

L'Espalier
774 Boylston Street, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)
(617) 262-3023
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Espalier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 2,707 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $100
Cuisines: French, American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield St.
Transit: Copley Square T
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent cheese selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The dining experience at L'Espalier is quite unique in Boston - although the dishes are a little more "fancy" than I usually like (focus is on the presentation and unusualness of the food rather than the actual deliciousness of a dish) it's always an eye-opening experience with new flavors and combinations of foods that you'll enjoy. The best part, however, is the cheese selection - you can have a cheese platter for an appetizer or dessert, and they have the finest selection in Boston. You can even go there during the day to buy some of the cheeses that you especially liked. They focus on a lot of local (New England) dairy farms, but have a wide range from around the world. If nothing else, go there for one of their monthly cheese tasting and be prepared to be blown away!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    91
    48
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved the "Salon"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a Red Sox game and had heard that this restaurant was amazing. Not being dressed for a fancy meal we were nervous to even stop in. The hostess was very nice and allowed us to sit in the "Salon". We enjoyed an amazing cheese plate and glass of Westport Rivers hubby in an incredible atmosphere. Bravo!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
237 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I think people do not appreciate what a deal this is for lunch-served every day. It is prix fixe (or ala carte) and it gives those with a couple hours to spare the most serene, relaxed and satisfying lunch experience that you will ever have. It reminds me of London in the approach to having a civilized meal. The tea is without peer in Boston, as is the cheese course. We dined here several times this month, both with and without our teenagers--and every time was a gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Michelin?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the highlight of a 4 night sports weekend in Boston. Service is amazing and the food should definatly be Michelin Rated. I would say the pricing is also very reasonable considering the service and the quality of food. If i lived in Boston, I would be here often!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best dining in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The quality of ingredients and perfect presentations make this possibly the finest dining experience in Boston. The service is polished and professional without being stuffy and the restaurant decor is pleasant and unobtrusive. Have made several visits and it's never disappointed. The great cheese selection is a pleasing touch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Espalier also viewed

 

Been to L'Espalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Espalier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.