We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Villa Francesca

Ristorante Villa Francesca
150 Richmond St, Boston, MA 02109 (North End)
(617) 367-2948
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Villa Francesca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #992 of 2,881 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Hanover Street
Transit: Haymarket and Government Center--A quick walk up Hanover Street brings you to our step.
Description: Villa Francesca is one of Boston's oldest North End restaurants. Enjoy Italian cuisine inspired by the recipes of Francesca and the Guglielmo family. Fresh seafood, pastas, prime cut chops and steaks arrive daily for you dining pleasure. We love seafood just as much as you do and have designed a Prix Fixe 3-course Seafood menu available every night!Enjoy an intimate candlelit night or a night out with friends to make your special event a night to remember. Our restaurant can facilitate your event needs by booking one of the private function spaces for any special occasion.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Really great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had reservations for 8 people on a Saturday night and didn't have to wait a bit. We were seated downstairs where it had the feel of a wine cellar or a Revolutionary Inn. Very cool. The $40 prix fix dinner was ordered by most of our party and everyone raved about their food. The lobster was HUGE. I had the seafood risotto and it was amazing--loaded with shellfish in the most delicous risotto. The service was attentive, even when two of our part were rather picky about their food choices. There was a nice selection of wine.

Usually I choose restaurants based on TA reviews, but this time someone else made the reservation. I can't believe this place doesn't have a higher rating because I was certainly happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    39
    44
    23
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last minute stop in the North End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

For having no reservations on a Saturday night, they were very accommodating for our party of 8 (which I knew was going to be a challenge but we were up for it). We sat in the basement which was very cool and not as loud as the rest of the restaurant. The food, while very good, did sit for a while on a bar by our table but otherwise, the service was quick, servers polite, and wine was excellent. Great atmosphere for eight friends hoping for a "genuine" Italian meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, but a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wanted a good Italian dinner with a group of friends on our last night in Boston and our concierge recommended Villa Francesca in the North End. It was a Saturday night and the restaurant was packed, so there was good vibe in the restaurant. It can get quite loud as tables are very close together. Food was good (had the lobster ravioli appetizer) but pricey (2 pieces of ravioli on that appetizer that cost over $10 ... really? c'mon man!). Food was good, not great. Service was good. We enjoyed our dinner, but I have a feeling there were better Italian restaurants. The restaurant is in a great location ... the North End is a lively and energetic area. We walked around the area for a bit and loved the

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Average food, nothing to write home about except the price. Service was good at a late lunch, but the place was not very busy at the time. I believe one might find a better meal elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not too good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Made reservation upon recommendation of hotel. They sat our party in the basement. Very tight space with no view. Waiters spoke more Spanish than Italian. Food was expensive and just ok. Main dish for one person came 10 minutes after everyone else was served.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Villa Francesca also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Villa Francesca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Villa Francesca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.