We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florentine Cafe

Florentine Cafe
333 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-1910 (North End)
617-227-1777
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #506 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: North End
Armidale NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

There is a multitude to restaurants to choose from in Hanover St but this one caught our eye. Is was a busy place and looked like it was a place where the locals ate.

The service was immediate and the food portions were large, in fact a little too large so don't order an appetizer. Some of the dishes were fairly traditional Italian but the black spaghetti with clams that I had was a little out of the ordinary. The waiter explained it was stained by octopus ink. It was delicious. Would recommend. Prices were reasonable

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    72
    34
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable eating experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Even though we were in the restaurant on a very busy and very hot July weekend evening our party of 7 was accommodated in a very friendly and efficient way. Seats at the bar whilst we waited and food that was of an excellent quality with water glasses topped up constantly made the evening go smoothly. Would go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Food was terrific.

Ambience (all the doors and windows open) was perfect.

Service was professional and attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Ate here because I wanted a casual open air north end dinner. The food was ok and our waitress was great. Would check out another place next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in the North End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

While on a college tour during a major snowstorm, my daughter & I trudged through the snow into the North End for lunch and happily came in from the cold at Florentine Cafe! The atmosphere was welcoming and "old world" - just what we wanted. We were seated by the window and enjoyed watching the snow accumulate on the window box. My daughter had the special pasta consisting of campanelle pasta (bell shaped noodles) with chicken, mushrooms and broccoli. I had the Italiano panini, an italian sub roll filled with grilled Italian sausage, caramelized onions, roasted peppers & fresh mozzarella cheese served with a mista salad. The service was very friendly and our food was terrific. The restaurants looks like a great spot in the summer with sidewalk seating, open windows and probably a bustling nightlife. Great choice in the North End!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florentine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Florentine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florentine Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.