We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The White Collar answer to Blue color Blues!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clerys Restaurant

Clerys Restaurant
113 Dartmouth St, Boston, MA 02116-5134 (South End)
(617) 262-9874
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,170 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, English, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: South End
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The White Collar answer to Blue color Blues!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sometimes you're just not sure which way you should go! You're an office white collar but you yearn to be a little blue collar in attitude and energy! I frequently visit the South End in Boston and this is where my white collar roots turn blue. This quasi-Irish pub can be both. I like to visit and taste a good selection of traditional bar drinks without traveling a great distance and without worrying who I am. Sound existential . . . Fine. But if it's quiet repose you want, not here. It's at times an elbow bumping, noisy cosmopolitan venue with lots of activity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    4
    9
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic...bar staff an asset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Came twice during our recent stay in Boston, first for drinks only and then the second day gave into our food cravings. The girl behind the bar (dark hair and glasses...sorry didn't catch name) is a real asset to the place; she is really welcoming, friendly and knowledgable.
The loaded Tater tots were literally one of the best plates we indulged in during our holiday! Can't wait to comeback next time we're in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing bartender!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Popped in just because we needed to use wifi & to have a drink, we ended up eating here, food portions are huge highly recommend the Philly steak spring rolls!
The bar staff are very good & very friendly & soon got very busy

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So unwelcoming!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Came here during Hurricane Sandy, desperately looking for food and a drink. Aged 35 & 34 but immediately asked for ID. We showed our UK driving licences, and these were refused so following a row with the manager we left. Extremely unwelcoming staff, in the middle of the worst hurricane in a generation! Stay away folks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Trendy sort of bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

we had a meal (burgers and fries!) here and found it find very nice. It was probably a little trendy for us but people were friendly and and the food was nice, so we have nothing to complain about

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clerys Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clerys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clerys Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.