We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oysters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B & G Oysters

B & G Oysters
550 Tremont St, Boston, MA 02116-6314
617-423-0550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
B & G Oysters is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #213 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $41 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Waltham
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great food, especially the chocolate dessert special. Out of this world. The hostess recommended a great bottle of wine that complimented our dinner and of course the oysters were very fresh and tasty!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    98
    38
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very impressive. Another Barbara Lynch success.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had lunch here during restaurant week, 3 courses prix fixe with good choices. Clam chowder has always been one of my favorites and this place served the best that I have ever had. It was not drowned with milk or cream, pancetta added a very nice twist. Yum! Scallops cooked to perfection. Chocolate mousse terrific. Wine pairing suggestion just perfect. Wait staff very knowledgeable and friendly. Liked watching chefs do their thing in open kitchen. Sorry it took so long to get to this place. Will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Everything about b and g was just okay.....service, food, atmosphere. We ate a variety of oysters and had calamari (which was good) and fried clams (good). Nothing super exciting. Super small restaurant, so wouldn't expect to get in without reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, excellent wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went here for a Sunday lunch with coworkers while visiting Boston for business. We ate our fill in raw oysters and clams, and they have great Muscadet and Chablis that pairs incredibly well with shellfish.

I also highly recommend the crab BLT sandwich, whoa! And it's big enough to share (which I did).

Our server was outstanding, he anticipated our needs and was always on-the-ball.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, exceptional preparation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely ambiance, both indoors and on the terrace. My favorite appetizer is the fried oysters. I have never been disappointed with any of the fish dishes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B & G Oysters also viewed

 

Been to B & G Oysters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & G Oysters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.