We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meals and service in a pleasant setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Bar and Grille

Union Bar and Grille
1357 Washington St, Boston, MA 02118 (South End)
(617) 423-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Bar and Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #396 of 2,672 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South End
Cross street: Union Park
Transit: Silver Line T Washington Street
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Excellent meals and service in a pleasant setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had dinner at Union Bar & Grille on a recent Saturday evening. We ate early in the evening so the restaurant was not crowded. Our reservation was honored right away and we were seated at a comfortable corner booth with an extra chair. Service was excellent. We were greeted right away and our server appeared at just the right time throughout our meal. The food was delicious. Our only quibble being that it took a long time in coming. Everything was hot so it had not been sitting. Prices were appropriate for a downtown Boston restaurant but there were no reasonably priced wines on the wine list. Union has valet parking which we did not use on this visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey G, Owner at Union Bar and Grille, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for dining with us CarpeNox.
I will share your constructive comments regarding the wine selections.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    50
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice industrial decoration, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place is a must in the South End growing reputation area, the large room industrial decoration is nice, howether a little bit noisy, food is excellent, calamari, jumbo prawns, but also meat and dessert are good, we paid approx 70 $ for a 3 courses diner with wine

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey G, Owner at Union Bar and Grille, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for dining with us Olivier and for the kind comments.
Regards
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food, and atmosphere. A plus all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

So glad we chose Union to celebrate our special occassion. The four of us were treated so well, and the atmosphere was relaxed and quiet enough for us to all talk and relax. When we left the staff thanked us for choosing Union for our celebratory dinner. How nice is that! Our car was right out front when we were ready to leave since we used the valet service ($16).
We chose to go to Union since we had been there years ago and remembered it was a good experience and the food was excellent. (Cant beat starting the meal with the warm cornbread served in a cast iron pan).
Will return soon, since it was a wonderful dining experience all around.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey G, Manager at Union Bar and Grille, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for dining with us WR.
Wonderful to read you enjoyed your meal and service.
I will share your comments with staff.
Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Casual and great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stopped in for a few drinks and a meal on the way to the airport and enjoyed a lovely few hours in a relaxed atmosphere. We enjoyed the banter with the staff and we were well looked after. I had the scallops to eat and they were small but delicious! It was quite quiet when we were in (late afternoon/early evening) but we sat at the bar so you didn't notice. It wasn't cheap but I suspect in line with Boston central prices.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant is always consistently good whether it is lunch, dinner or my favorite brunch. Great service, great food, and a nice bar area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Bar and Grille also viewed

 

Been to Union Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Bar and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.