We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the turkey hash!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe - CLOSED

Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe
429 Columbus Ave, Ste 1, Boston, MA 02116-5940 (South End)
617-536-7669
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: South End
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try the turkey hash!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this gem while looking for breakfast this morning -- excellent home cooked breakfast with unusual choices -- we tried the turkey hash and it was excellent . Service was prompt & local families were lining up outside to get in. A traditional diner feel but not resting on their history -- all in all, an excellent place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    37
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Diner Food in Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I love local spots when traveling. The atmosphere is one of the best experiences in eating at Charlie's. I ate there for breakfast and had the oatmeal with a cranberry compote. It was pretty good for oatmeal. My companion had eggs with the turkey hash and was very pleased. Wanted to go back during the trip but didn't have the chance.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“America2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Breakfast here was excellent , great choice of eggs , omelettes , sausage etc . Fab French toast with blueberries . Cakes and pastries looked very good too

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Honest Food from Good Local Folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are looking for a good honest home cooked food in downtown Boston look no farther than Charlie's. Healthy portions of pancakes, omelets, sandwiches and a variety of dinner plates are served up piping hot in this very popular local eatery. Breakfast is served from early morning until closing at early afternoon. The place has a welcoming feel and the popularity among Bostonians proves this. This diner has been around for a while as a local institution. Don't expect linen tablecloths and white coated waiters but do expect hearty fare prepared fresh, served hot, and delivered to your table or the counter promptly. Great for breakfast or lunch. Reasonable prices $8 - 12 a plate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun Place and Breakfast was YUMMY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place is adorable and is only a block or so from Newbury Street. Our hotel concierge recommended it for a late breakfast on Saturday. They do not take reservations and they only take cash. When you get there you line up outside until they have a spot for you. The place only holds about 50 people or less. We only waited about 10 minutes.

They sat my friend and I at a table with two other couples. You cannot be shy if you eat here.

Lots of folks were eating the turkey hash and seemed to like it. I ordered 2 eggs, bacon, potatoes and toast. They included about 4 strips of bacon and a pile of potatoes. Portions were large and everything I had was delicious.

Service is just okay but you don't really care since you're there for the fun atmosphere and good food.

Someone told us that part of the movie "Ted" was filmed here but I didn't confirm that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.