We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Diner - Have the Hash!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe

Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe
429 Columbus Ave, Ste 1, Boston, MA 02116-5940 (South End)
617-536-7669
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: South End
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classic Diner - Have the Hash!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We ended up at this place at the advice of the concierge at the high price hotel we were staying at in Copley Place. The hotel offered something like a croissant and orange juice for $16, so we asked the concierge where we could get a good breakfast for reasonable prices. Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe was his instant answer, to which he added "Have the Hash. They're famous for it."

What a gem of a place! Tiny diner, with a counter and only a few tables (we had to share a table with some other folks who turned out to be tourists, too), but despite its obvious age, which was part of its charm (established in 1927, the sign said) very clean and homey. Our food was great. One strange thing - or at least strange to us - was the inclusion of salad with most of the breakfast items, but it turned out to be a really nice combination. And the guy was right - the turkey hash with eggs was Fab!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    82
    37
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to Charlies 3 out of the 4 mornings we were in Boston as it was over the road from where we were staying. The food was unreal. Massive portions that set us up for the day. The omlette and the blueberry french toast were especially delicious. The place itself is shabby and looks like it hasnt been changed since about 1950, but i think thats part of its charm. The service was prompt and friendly. There are signs on the wall telling you not to linger after eating, which I suppose is necessary in a place as small yet interesting as this. The photos on the wall were interesting to look at. Charlies is definitely worth checking out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Armagh
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Make the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great spot for real food. My wife loved the hash turkey special. If you are staying in the nearby swanky hotels then make the effort to seek out this little gem. Owner Marie very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Plus you can get a good pot of tea.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place was a little off the beaten path but wow it sure was worth the extra walk from our hotel!! My mom had the blueberry french toast and loved it! I had the turkey hash and eggs and loved it!! My niece had regular pancakes and said they were the best she had ever had!! We loved it so much we went back for breakfast the morning we left Boston!! It is cash only so make sure you don't forget the cash!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Try the Turkey Hash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Long lines on the weekends so come early. Best breakfast EVER! I had the Turkey Hash with Rye Bread. Delicious!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Sandwich Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.