We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great selection and great tasting food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
California Pizza Kitchen
800 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-8025 (Back Bay)
(617) 247-0888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #428 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“great selection and great tasting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Visited the mall en route to Boston Airport and stopped here for food as better than at the airport.

The menu has a great selection for all tastes and dietary needs. the food is fresh and full of taste. the service is spot on, efficient and not 'in your face'. The food arrives swiftly and exactly as ordered. the whole place just works well. Its quiet enough for a business lunch and yet relaxed enough for lunch with friends.

The decor is right as well. Not too fussy but clean and modern.

recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    35
    46
    33
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We enjoyed the pizza and I enjoyed the fresh lemonade. It is an open kitchen. The location was good as were staying across the road. The service was not the best. Refills were not offered on drinks until we were brought the check and no extra napkins for pizza. The individual pizza were $12-14. We skipped dessert and appetizers but the fried mac n cheese looked appetizing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Consistent, high quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

CPK is a very reliable chain. The Prudential location is a bit tucked away, but a very good and convenient spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend is a vegetarian and I'm just a plain old picky eater, so finding a restaurant that's of decent quality that we can both eat at isn't the easiest thing. We ended up here, as we wanted to stay near the Prudential building (we were going to Top of the Hub for dessert and drinks later). He had a veggie sandwich and salad that he loved and I had a really good Thai chicken salad. Both meals were excellent and good sized. I even ordered the "half" salad and was quite full afterwards. The server was excellent (she suggested only getting the "half") and witty. We made sure to tip her well! Oh, the wine menu was also pretty good, especially considering we thought this place was just a pizza place. We will be going to Boston again in a couple weeks and will almost definately eat here again, it was *that* good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good choice and very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The choice of Pizzas s very good. The server recommended a pizza and it was delicious. The price is reasonable and you get free refills.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Pizza Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.