We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paramount

The Paramount
44 Charles Street, Beacon Hill, Boston, MA 02114-4604 (Beacon Hill)
617 720 1152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Beacon Hill
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Be prepared to wait. This place is fairly small compared to the volume of business they do, but the food is definitely worth the wait! Ordered the caramel banana french toast. I'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    203
    52
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food at a local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

By chance we were sent to this local favorite by a store clerk in a nearby shop. Our timing put us in the lunch rush but we enjoyed watching the cooks at the grill and salad stations who turn out the freshly made food fast after your order. We met Boston people in line who said the wait would be worth it and they were right. The menu on wall signs includes breakfast all day plus paninis, salads, burgers. I had a freshly made Cobb salad, large enough for two and my husband had the crab cake sandwich. We shared an order of home fries since we watched the huge pile on the grill from the line. While everything was good i should have taken a note of all the regulars ordering breakfast food. Next time it will be French toast or poached eggs - both looked great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nothing outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visited this restaurant on a Monday morning and was able to walk straight in and order, despite it being relatively busy. Everything works like clockwork here! By the time my food was ready, a table had become available and I was seated and able to enjoy my Strawberry pancakes, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. All 3 pancakes were cooked to perfection and the portion was big enough to share. The Cappuccino was just OK and was wishy washy. I would have preferred my coffee stronger. Maybe I am missing something but I did not find the breakfast to be particularly outstanding. The service, on the other hand was excellent. I did not have to wait long to order or to receive my meal and drinks. Staff were friendly and polite and spent time chatting to customers. Tables were swiftly cleared away after customers left, so there was never a long wait for a table.

My recommendation is to visit if you are in the area but it’s not worthy of a special trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Busy neighborhood restaurant, go early for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Enjoyed our meal at this busy neighborhood restaurant.
The place filled up fast, so go early for dinner.
Great salads and burgers, nice selection of wines and beers.
Friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OK Food Not Worth the Wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We selected The Paramount because of the online reviews and it was close to our hotel. When we arrived, there was a long line. I thought it must be good. The line moves very slowly and you get yelled at by both patrons and workers. There is nothing that unusual about their setup: you order first and sit second. But given the setup, there is no second cup of coffee or any relaxing.

As for the food itself, it was OK. I had an omelet with tasty home fries. My wife had the french toast with bananas and caramel which was just OK. It is hard to screw that up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paramount also viewed

 

Been to The Paramount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paramount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.