We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed at lunchtime” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Paramount

The Paramount
44 Charles Street, Beacon Hill, Boston, MA 02114-4604 (Beacon Hill)
617 720 1152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Beacon Hill
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very disappointed at lunchtime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This has been a family favorite breakfast destination, and is a Boston classic. My wife and I went to Paramount for lunch after a stroll through the Public Garden, and were very disappointed.

The normally friendly staff was grumpy. Even though empty, food prep was surprisingly slow...especially compared to busy breakfast times. One order apparently got picked up by someone else and I had to wait a while for mine.

We are hoping that breakfast will be a return to what we remember enjoying so much!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    202
    52
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We planned having breakfast at this place long before our visit to Boston because of the good reviews we read on Trip Advisor. We were absolutly satisfied by the food. We tried two omelets and the amazing by all means french banana caramel toast. The latter was just fantastic, thought it would be too sweet but the sweetness was so balanced I could have another one! The only thing is that I would enjoy more my breakfast if I didn't feel like I had to leave so that next customers can be seated. It would be better if there was more space for people to sit and actually enjoy the time there. Despite this, I totally recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pancakes to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After reading other reviews, we headed out to The Paramount on Friday morning and were not disappointed. You queue for food and order at the bar before taking a seat. The options are good and prices very reasonable for Boston and the quality. We had two kinds of pancakes, banana and apple-cinnamon, which we split between myself and my husband. The were both excellent and couldn't be faulted. They were having trouble with the till and couldn't take card payments, but we had cash. Definitly worth a queue, but I imagine it gets very busy at the weekends as brunch seems to be 'the thing' in Boston. This is why we love trip advisor, as I am sure we wouldn't have found this little gem otherwise!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went to the Paramount on our first morning in Boston from the Revere Hotel (15min walk). Very good range, freshly cooked - thoroughly enjoyed it. Its also situated in a lovely street which is great for some shopping afterwards...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What is the big deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I do not understand the craze over this restaurant. Food is fine, but I wouldn't wait in line for it. I have been here for breakfast and dinner and it was fine, but I must be missing something.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paramount also viewed

 

Been to The Paramount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paramount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.