We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abe & Louie's

Abe & Louie's
793 Boylston Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)
617 536 6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Abe & Louie's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 2,670 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield
Transit: Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

If you're in Boston looking for a steakhouse, Abe & Louie's is the place to go. The food is excellent as is the service. It's pricey but you will feel it was money well spent. In terms of steakhouses, one of the best I have visited.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    225
    90
    46
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Sonny - conducting a symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Visited Abe and Louie's on 19th January 2014. Bitterly cold evening in Boston but what warm welcome that awaited me. Struggled to get a table so took my chance by the bar and had a great time watching Sonny - behind the bar conducting his orchestra (clients / waiters and other barren) to his tune. So much was controlled by him it was a joy to watch and engage in the masterpiece.
The food was ordered (prawns followed by a fabulous Filet Mignon) and it was a great atmosphere all round. Food was excellent - will be back as soon as I can.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Simply awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

So delicious, great service & wine list. Had the swordfish steak-perfection. Their house Pinot from their vineyard is divine. Seating is a little packed but it is worth it for the meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

while its expensive this is a must for fish lovers! we turned up in the pouring rain on tuesday 14th january and the place was heaving with diners. We had no booking but got a table after a short wait. we had a special lobster dish with a creamy vegetable sauce. The whole lobster arrived on a large plate and was was a sight to behold and wonderful to eat. the other main was of scallops and prawns with rice, perfectly cooked with a pleasant sauce. All extremely satisfying.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food ,I enjoyed my meal and the best fillet I ever have it and a year. Service was good and everything else was excellent .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abe & Louie's also viewed

 

Been to Abe & Louie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abe & Louie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.