We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what we paid for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abe & Louie's

Abe & Louie's
793 Boylston Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)
617 536 6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Abe & Louie's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $31 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield
Transit: Two blocks from the Copley "T" stop.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
“Got what we paid for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A&L oozes class and old-school charm. Wood tones and classic decor add to the enjoyment Friendly welcome and wat staff. All the classic steak joint fare, plus the best crab cakes I've ever eaten. Steaks were perfectly seasoned and cooked to temperature. But the bone-in ribeye was tougher than expected. My friend's bone-in filet was dynamite though. Great wine list includes moderately priced offerings, and our waiter made a great recommendation that went great with our steaks. Desserts were the bomb too. Overall experience was A+ and we will go back as soon as we get a chance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    202
    86
    43
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiawah Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thought this was going to be a fine dining steakhouse and it turned out to be a very noisy post Red Sox game gathering place for the guys. Excellent steaks & service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining and fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A up-market restaurant in heart of the city of Boston, Abe & Louie's is a good place for a formal evening. The food was excellent as was the wine, service and atmosphere.

Take plenty of money as it's not cheap - $45 for a rib-eye and $50 for a bottle of red and that was at the lower end of the menu!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were staying in Boston for a week and were recommended Abe and Louie's to have our mandatory US steak.

For our starters I had the king prawn cocktail while my wife had the crab cakes. We then both went for the filet mignon with chunky chips and mushrooms on the side. The crab cakes were excellent and the steaks were cooked perfectly. We finished with an excellent chocalate cookie type dessert, that just about got the better of us.

The service was very good and attentive, however, I would say that although you can't fault the restaurant, it is overpriced for what you get.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great brunch, good sister restaurant too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We actually ate here, and at the Atlantic Fish Company, which is the sister restaurant to Abe and Louies. Both were great and were well appointed on the interior and had a good selection of seafood and local fare.
We would definitely return if we were nearby.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abe & Louie's also viewed

 

Been to Abe & Louie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abe & Louie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.