We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious after dinner stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finale Park Plaza

Finale Park Plaza
One Columbus Avenue, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)
(617) 423-3184
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 50 Dessert in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bakeries, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“delicious after dinner stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stopped in last weekend after a nice dinner on Newbury St
Then headed to Finale for desert. The service was great and with the desert selection it was difficult to pick just one. I had the Creme brulee with fresh fruit and some orange tasting cookies. Wonderful!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    73
    35
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So crowded that it is hard to enjoy.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

During a long weekend in the city we went to Finale's 2x...one to sit and another for take out. Each time the crowds were staggering and this really has an impact on the expereince. Also, the desserts offered at table service are not as good as what they have available in the pastry case.... you can ask for something from the pastry case but then you would have to stand in line twice......grab take out but be prepapared to wait for that as well....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun to take people for the first time.. it is a fun place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

because Finale is situated in a great location, close to the theatre district and movie theatre with good first impressions on the inside and out, including a nice red velvet booth decor. This is a fun and unique experience but the desserts are not over the top. They are beautifully presented on the plate but not incredible with flavor, this includes the two types of molten cakes and the Manjari mousse which was mostly a mousse type of dessert. The blackberry sorbet was incredibly small. We also ordered the hazelnut hot chocolate, same critique. Not even in the same league as L.A. Burdichs hot chocolate! It is extremely crowded on the weekends, usually with a wait. Be prepared to not have a private conversation, the tables are close. Not always a bad thing but good to know. Desserts can be shared. A nice experience overall, I will I am sure go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better dessert options around town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went here last night after dinner at Hillstone. It was disappointing after such a fantastic meal. The desserts weren't bad but they weren't great, either. The pricing did not reflect the quality of the food or service. It was overpriced for our experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Awesome dessert in a comfortable atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

A friend suggested that I visit this place to check out the desserts. I went there for a light dinner and was wowed by the quality of the food and the attention to detail. The venue located near Park Plaza and the Boston Commons is comfortable and welcoming. Understated elegance with chic sophistication. The servers are wonderful and very helpful. The menu is heavy on desserts of all types with several interesting main courses. After sorting the options, I selected the Prixe Fixe dinner/dessert. I ordered the White Chicken pizza and Tiramisu, with an espresso to accompany the dessert. The pizza was sensational, wonderful crust, delightful flavors, and superb chicken and onions. And the dessert was amazing: an awesome Tiramisu served with gelato and mini-biscotti. The flavors for the Tiramisu were delightful. The gelato was a pleasant addition to the dessert and complemented the taste experience. Definite a place worth re-visiting in order to explore other items and savor the flavors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finale Park Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Finale Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finale Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.