We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Splendor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grill 23 & Bar

Grill 23 & Bar
161 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-5108
617-542-2255
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grill 23 & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 2,881 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stuart Street
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Steak Splendor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Although they have a splendid variety of entrees, this is a steak restaurant. Their beef comes from a single ranch in California which only raises and processes Freisian steer. The end result is a magnificently tender and flavorful steak.

The decor is quite elegant, with high sculpted ceilings rising above lovely columns. It is rich with dark mahogany wood panels, oak flooring, amid bits of brass and marble. It is in my opinion the definition of a Steak House and the epitome of fine dining.

Our meal was wonderful, and the Waitstaff was attentive and superb. The menu has a nice variety of Raw Bar items, a comfortable Appetizer selection, choices of beef, chicken, and seafood, and an A la Carte selection of a dozen amazing dishes. They have an extensive wine list, and an interesting "$23 Wine List" with 30+ offerings from around the world, available on Sunday and Monday in the main dining rooms.

With the rich ambiance, fine food and impeccable service, this was one of the best dining experiences we have enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    186
    71
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked the restaurant after reading the reviews as part of a short break from the UK.The restaurant is in an excellent area with high quality decor but the atmosphere was loud which was not helped by 2 televisions in the bar area on sports channels.We all had steaks which were superb and my only issue was with the fries which were exceptionally salty.The service was attentive and helpful making the whole evening a great experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hopping for decades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I find the food consistently good; great service; energetic atmosphere to the point of loud on the downstairs main floor on weekends, and always enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Everything is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My first time here, with friends who are Boston Locals. They were convinced this is a great place to eat, and none of us were disappointed. I have to admit the "tater tots" were the best Potatoes I've had in a long time. I went for the Tuna Steak, and the others went with a variety of other steaks. Everyone was happy. The desserts were really good. The price was a bit high, but I've seen much higher for far worse. The service and value were all very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have eaten at Grill 23 at least 4 times in the last quarter or so. The drinks are well made and the Kobe Steak is like butter. I have not been disappointed on any visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill 23 & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Grill 23 & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill 23 & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.